Army Boys and Meghalaya closing in on QF berth in Subroto Cup…

In the 57th Subroto International Football Tournament’s pool matches for Under-17 Junior Boys held at the Dr. Ambedkar Stadium this morning, the Chhattisgarh boys routed the team from Sri Lanka 14-0 while the squad from Karnataka accounted for Gujarat schoolboys 12-0.

Anand Kumar scored 8 goals in Chhattisgarh 14-0 Win over Defence Services College Colombo, Sri Lanka.

It was the turn of St Javier Higher Secondary School from Chhattisgarh and Army Boys Coy from Bengaluru to exploit the pathetic conditions of their opponents to score emphatic wins over Defence Services College from Colombo and Navrachana International School from Vadodara.

Dip Majumdar scored 6 times in Army boys 12-0 victory of Gujarat in Subroto Cup 2016.

Of the eight goals he scored, Anand Kumar was thwarted from achieving a hat-trick as his team mates Sumit and Ghanshyam scored in-between to spoil his chances. Anand opened the team’s account in the second minute also Ghanshyam struck four times to swell their tally.

Dip Majumdar was the star attraction in Army Boys win over Gujarat as he found the target half a dozen times and leaving the rest for his colleagues Tony Huidrom, Denzong Lepcha and Premjit Singh who shared two goals each.

Yanger, Kitho,Chaba were on scoresheet for Nagaland in 3-1 win over Mamta Modern School, Vikas Puri, New Delhi.

State Sports Academy from Dimapur taught a lesson to Mamta Modern School, Vikas Puri, after the latter’s easy outings in the first two days. Mamta boys were at the receiving end today as Yanger provided the lead. The Nagaland boys returned after break to strike twice through Kitho and during injury time when Chaba added to the tally. Nischay had reduced the margin for the Delhi school in the 40th minute.

Phbangki Buam, Manish Singh, Khangmiki Pale scored brace in Meghalaya 8-0 victory over Modern School, Barakhamba Road, New Delhi (IPSC)

At NWC, Elias Higher Secondary School from Meghalaya rolled past Modern School (Barakhamba Road), New Delhi IPSC, scoring 8-0. After Santosh Singh had put the northeastern in lead very early, Vincently and Phbangki Buam (2) consolidated with Manish Singh (2) and Khangmiki Pale (2) joining the party. In fact, the Meghalaya boys were in an unassailable lead of 5-0 at the half time.

Sukhandeep scored brace in Chandigarh entertaining 3-2 victor over Maharashtra in Subroto Cup 2016.

The Government school boys from Chandigarh triumphed 3-2 in a well contested pool match against Krida Prabodhini from Pune in the morning. All the goals came in the second half. It was unfortunate that the Pune boys were well and truly on course for earning full points with a 2-0 lead after Vishwanath Shelke (42) and Sahil Bhalerao (48) scored. But Sukhandeep (512) and Devansh Dabas (59) changed the course restoring parity. But what cost the Pune boys was the goal by Sukhandeep, his second, eight minutes from time.

Maharana Pratap Sports College Raipur, Dehradun, Uttarakhand defeated Lakshadweep 3-0 in Subroto Cup 2016.

As usual, the Government School from Lakshadweep tasted third successive loss, this time to Uttrakhand’s Maharana Pratap Sports College who won 3-0. In fact, the winners struck only twice but the 39th minute own goal by Lakshdweep’s Ubhadullah helped the Sports College boys open their account. Later Gaurav Rawat and Shubham Rana strengthened their grips with two more goals.

In the afternoon, West Bengal boys scored a 14-0 win over Government school Daman with as many as eight of their boys scoring for the winners. The loser’s apathy was complete when Khush Tailor struck a own goal five minutes from time. In another one-sided pool game, the boys from Kerala beat Andhra team 5-0. Mohammad Inayat scored a brace, including one during the injury time.

Delhi Public School, Panipat, Haryana defeated Chandrapur High School, Chandrapur, Assam 2-1 in Subroto Cup 2016.

Arunachal Pradesh defeated Tamil Nadu 4-0, Jharkhand schoolboys went 0-1 down to Sainik School, Goan outfit thrashed The Air Force School 7-0 and Haryana boys overcame Assam 2-1.