The ex-Indian Arrows trident will feature in the competition again.

The Hero Super Cup 2018 sponsored by Hero MotoCorp is termed as the Federation’s main Club knockout football competition, The tournament will be played on a knock-out basis among 16 teams. The top six teams of the I-League and the Indian Super League would be granted a direct entry into the round of 16, while the bottom-placed teams from both the leagues would be playing a play-off to decide on the remaining four spots. which was eventually grabbed by Gokulam Kerala FC, Chennai City FC, Mumbai City and Atlético de Kolkata. 

Meantime, Recently crowned Hero I-League Champions Minerva Punjab FC who are looking forward to do the triple after successfully defending their AIFF Youth League title for 3 consecutive season, scripted their name into the History books of Indian Football with their fairytale run have confirmed their participation in the tournament as the club officially announced their 27 member squad that includes Côte d’Ivoire imports Bazie Armand and Dano Guy Eric, Frenchman Kassim Aidara, Ghanaian William Opoko, Nepales numero uno Kiran Chenjong and Bhutan Skipper Chencho Gyeltshen. 

Wangkhem Khogen Singh coached side who will land in the “Temple City of India” tomorrow are scheduled to take on Indian Super League debutants Jamshedpur FC on April 2 at the Kalinga Stadium. 

All eyes would definitely be on Minerva Punjab FC whose impressive run in the Hero I-League earned them accolades from all quarters, including FIFA President Gianni Infantino, who wrote to All India Football Federation (AIFF) president Praful Patel and congratulated the team for their recent success.


Karnataka look to derail defending champions West Bengal in Santosh Trophy semifinals

Indian Football Team of the Season: Evergreen Chhetri, Subrata lead nation’s breakout stars

Kerala, Mizoram square off for a final berth

Interestingly Minerva Punjab FC included India U-17 World Cup star’s Nongdamba Naorem and India’s first ever goal scorer at the FIFA World Cup Tournament Thaonaojam Jeakson Singh and show stopper Anwar Ali to the squad as they return back from their loan spell with Indian Arrows. 

Henna Bajaj, Director of the Club has further confirmed that salary’s of all the players including foreigners have been disbursed in time as commited, furthermore the club has announced huge bonus to all the players of the title winning squad including the officials ranging fron $ 1000 to $ 6000. 

Squad List for Hero Super Cup 2018 : 

Goalkeepers :

Kiran Kumar Limbu, Rakshit Dagar, Bhaskar Roy

Defenders :

Rahul Jaydebdas, Sukhdev Singh, Anwar Ali, Akash Sangwan, Kamalpreet Singh, Guy Eric Dano, Arashpreet Singh, Deepak Devrani, Abhishek Ambekar

Midfielders :

Randeep Singh, Bazie Armand, Souvik Das, Kassim Aidara, Akashdeep Singh, Bhaskar Roy, William Opoku Asiedu, Amandeep Singh, Thaonaojam Jeakson Singh, Nongdamba Naorem

Forwards :

Chencho Gyeltshen, Bali Gagandeep, Moinuddin, Girik Khosla, Rajan Negi, Makan Winkle Chothe