Oswald De Melo flagged off the eleventh edition of Reira Football Tournament on Sunday…

The eleventh edition of the Reira Group Football Tournament, kicked off with the inaugural match yesterday at Saligao played between CDJ Ribandar and Holiday SC Arpora. The guest of honour, Oswald De Melo, Director of Classic Squares inaugurated the popular tournament which has grown to become an annual fixture.

Also present at the kick-off ceremony was President of Saligao Sporting Club, Tony Remedious along the Director of Reira Group, Darryl Pereira and others. A total of 16 teams will participate in the tournament.

The winners will bag Rs. 40,000 while the runners-up will pocket Rs 30,000. In the inaugural match of the Reira Group Football Tournament 2017 the winning team Holiday SC Arpora defeated CDJ Ribandar by a margin of 2 – 0 (Pallvo Murali, Bhavesh Gawas) to move on to the next round.

The tournament is organized annually by the Saligao Sporting Club in association with the Reira Group. The following weeks will see local football teams from across the state, battle it out. The Reira Group Soccer Tournament is an annual sporting event held in the village of Saligao.

The initiative is part of Reira Group’s constant commitment to supporting local Goan talent in the field of sports, as it has been doing so over the years.