The event is taking place after a two-year halt due to the Covid pandemic.

The 2022 ITTF World Team Table Tennis Championships Final will take place from 30 September to 9 October in the southwestern Chinese city of Chengdu. The World Team Championship makes its return after the long-awaited event was put to a halt because of the global Covid pandemic. This is the only other major international sporting competition after the Olympic Winter Games Beijing 2022 to be held in China this year.


The World Team Championships have existed since it first took place in London in 1926 when a men’s team event was held alongside singles and doubles events. This tournament is named after Baroness Swaythling. Swaythling donated the trophy for the inaugural event. The first eight of the nine Swaythling Cups have been won by Hungary. And they are placed second to China in the all-time tally with 12 titles.

World Team Table Tennis Championships 2022

A total of 32 men’s and 28 women’s teams will challenge for two of the sport’s oldest trophies, the Swaythling and Corbillon Cups. China has been the defending champion in both the men’s and women’s events. They have named strong squads in both men’s and women’s teams to retain their titles. There will be 36 teams participating in the 56th edition of the World Team Table Tennis Championships 2022.

250 athletes across 36 nations will be out representing 62 teams in 10 days of table tennis action. The play will commence on 30 September with the group phase. The knockout phase will start on the 5th of October. The women’s and men’s finals will take place on the 8th and 9th of October respectively.

Team India

Sathiyan Gnanasekaran will be leading the Indian Men’s squad at the World Team Table Tennis Championships. (Courtesy – Olympics)

India Men’s Team: Sathiyan Gnanasekaran, Sanil Shetty, Harmeet Desai, Manav Thakkar, Manush Shah

India Women’s Team: Manika Batra, Reeth Tennison, Sreeja Akula, Diya Chitale, Swastika Ghosh


Men’s Groups

Group 1: China, Slovenia, USA, Peurto Rico, Thailand

Group 2: Germany, France, India, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan

Group 3: Japan, Hong Kong, Romania, Iran, Hungary

Group 4: Korea Republic, Egypt, Czech Republic, Canada, Saudi Arabia

Group 5: Sweden, England, Australia, Poland

Group 6: Brazil, Portugal, Denmark, Slovakia

Group 7: Chinese Taipei, Croatia, Belgium, Singapore

Women’s Groups

Group 1: China, USA, Puerto Rico, Canada, Malaysia

Group 2: Japan, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Uzbekistan

Group 3: Hong Kong, Brazil, France, Italy, South Africa

Group 4: Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Luxembourg, Iran

Group 5: Germany, Egypt, India, Czech Republic

Group 6: Romania, Chinese, Taipei, Sweden, Portugal


Dates and Rounds

September 30-October 4: Group Stages (Men’s and Women’s)

October 5: 1/8 Final (Men’s and Women’s)

October 6: 1/8 Final (Men’s) and Quarterfinals (Women’s)

October 7: Quarterfinals (Men’s) and Semifinals (Women’s)

October 8: Semifinals (Men’s) and Final (Women’s)

October 9: Final (Men’s)

India Men’s Team Schedule

October 1: Group Stage Match 1 – India vs Uzbekistan 7:30 AM

October 2: Group Stage Match 2 – India vs Germany 10:30 AM

October 3: Group Stage Match 3 – India vs Kazakhstan 10:30 AM

October 4: Group Stage Match 4 – India vs France 10:30 AM

India Women’s Team Schedule and Results

October 1: Group Stage Match 1- India vs Germany 10:30 AM

October 2: Group Stage Match 2 – India vs Czech Republic 1:30 PM

October 3: Group Stage Match 3 – India vs Egypt 10:30 AM

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.