The driver is currently fifth in the standings and his teammate Dennis Hauger is at 11th.

After three years of Prema dominance, it was finally MP Motorsport who dislodged them from the top. But in all honesty, Prema was nowhere near their usual self who is the embodiment of dominance in junior Formulas. After “failing to meet expectations”, Prema Racing are looking for cleanup and has decided to not continue with Dennis Hauger and Jehan Daruvala. As per the ‘F1 Feeder Series’, the Red Bull Junior duo is set for a move to defending champions MP Motorsport for the next season.

A poor finish with Prema

Prema completed the hat-trick of titles in 2021 with the driver pairing of Oscar Piastri and Robert Schwartzman. After winning a rookie title, Piastri had to give up the F2 seat. While Robert went on to explore reserve roles in Formula 1. To replace them, Prema went for experienced driver Jehan Daruvala and F3 champion Dennis Hauger.

Given the continued dominance of Prema in the feeder series, both Daruvala and Hauger were expected to be in a title fight.

But the new regulations and constant bad luck for the drivers meant that they were nowhere to be seen in the title fight. Prema finished fourth, behind Carlin who was the constructor’s runner-up and Daruvala’s team last year. Jehan was in the third position at one point but he also saw himself slip down to seventh. He is currently fifth in the championship with 126 points. His current points tally is level with rookie Australian Jack Doohan and Brazilian Enzo Fittipaldi. Daruvala finished three points ahead of fellow Red Bull junior Liam Lawson.

MP Motorsport on verge of winning first championship title

With the driver pairing of Felipe Drugovich and Clement Novalak, MP Motorsport are the closest to their first-ever Formula 2 title. However, it has been the driver’s champion Drugovich all along. As 86% of points are scored by the Brazilian himself. The constructor’s championship is tied in the last round with 281 points each for MP Motorsport and ART Grand Prix.

MP Motorsport has also been home to Indian drivers Arjun Maini and Kush Maini in the past. With Kush just recently emerged as a new candidate for Campos Racing after completing his rookie Formula 3 season with the Dutch outfit.

Daruvala’s Prema teammate Denis Hauger will remain his teammate in the new team. The Norwegian won the Formula 3 title as a rookie in the Prema machinery in 2021. With 98 points, he is only P11 in the standings.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.