These nations have produced several major players over the years.

The Australian Open 2023 is in full flow. As part of the four Grand Slam tennis events, it is one of the year’s biggest tournaments. Since the Open Era, which started in 1968, multiple greats of the game have gone on to win this prestigious tournament. Every year multiple countries are represented from all over the World and throughout its history, the youngest grand slam has seen winners from different nations. Here is a look at the top five countries with the most number of Australian Open wins in men’s singles in the Open Era:

5. Australia (6 titles)

Australia had 44 Australian Open titles in the amateur era but has managed only 6 yet in the Open Era. The first Australian to win the tournament in the Open Era was the legendary Rod Laver. He beat Spain’s Andres Gimeno in the final. Australia managed three back-to-back titles from 1971 to 1973 with Ken Rosewall winning twice in a row and John Newcombe winning the title in 1973. Newcombe won again in 1975. The last Australian to win the Open in men’s singles event was Mark Edmondson who won it in 1976.

4. Sweden (6 titles)

Sweden had their golden run in the Australian open when they won the title five consecutive times from 1983 to 1988. Mats Wilander and Stefan Edberg were the two players who brought glory to their nation. Mats Wilander was the first Swede to win the Australian Open singles title in 1983. He beat Czechoslovakia’s Ivan Lendl in the final. Wilander won the title the following year as well. In 1985 it was fellow Swede Stefan Edberg who defeated Mats Wilander in the final. Edberg won in 1987 as well while Edberg won his third Australian Open title in 1988. Thomas Johansson is the only other Swede to win the Australian Open title. He won it back in 2002.

3. Switzerland (7 titles)

All of Switzerland’s titles were won by one man, Roger Federer. Federer won his first Australian Open title back in 2004 when he defeated Marat Safin in the final. The Swiss international then went on to win six more titles over the years. Federer’s last Australian slam triumph came in 2018 when he beat Croatia’s Marin Cilic in a five-set thriller.

2. Serbia (9 titles)

Like Switzerland, the credit for Serbia’s nine Australian Open titles also goes to one man: Novak Djokovic. Djokovic has won the most number of Australian slam in history with nine title wins. The Serb won his first title in 2008 by defeating Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in the final. Djokovic won eight out of the eleven Australian Open held between 2011 and 2021. He also holds the record for the most consecutive title wins (three). Djokovic’s most recent Australian Open title win came in 2021.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

1. United States of America (14 titles)

The country with the highest number of Australian Open men’s singles titles is the United States of America. The first American to win the Australian slam was Arthur Ashe who won back in 1970. Since then nine different players from the USA have gone on to win the tournament. Among them, Pete Sampras and Jim Courier have won it twice each. Andre Agassi’s four title wins make him the player with the most Australian Open title wins for the United States of America. He is also the last American to win the Australian grand slam. Agassi’s triumph in 2003, was the last time an American won the Grand Slam from down under.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.