A total of 17 shuttlers from the country have earned a podium finish at the competition.

The Badminton Asia Championships are one of the most prestigious continental championships in the world. The tournament traces its roots to way back in 1976 . Since then, several players from different countries have lifted the crown and even retained it in the following years. The Indian players too have made their presence felt in different editions of the tournament.

Let’s have a look at all the Indian players who have won medals at this event since its beginning.

Men’s Singles

Dinesh Khanna (1965 & 1969)

Dinesh Khanna was a renowned player of his time. He won the gold medal at the Badminton Asia Championships in 1965, where he defeated Thailand’s Sangob Rattanusorn.

It was then followed by a bronze in 1969, where he became the first Indian player to win consecutive medals at the event. Dinesh continues to be the only Indian player to have won the Asian event so far.

Suresh Goel (1969)

Suresh Goel was a five-time national champion, not only in singles but also in doubles categories. His sheer talent didn’t disappoint when he stood on the podium alongside his compatriot Dinesh Khanna in 1965 with a bronze medal. This also made him the first player from India to win a bronze in this competition.

Prakash Padukone (1976)

Prakash Padukone is known for setting the foundation of badminton in India. He was one of the most successful players in his time.

A former World No. 1 in the sport, he became the first Indian to win the prestigious All England Open. He added to his set of medals when he won a bronze at the Badminton Asia Championships in 1976.

Pullela Gopichand (2000)

Gopichand was one of the prolific players in the world. He played a significant role in helping India to rise and strengthen its place in the sport. He won a bronze at the Asian tournament in 2000.

The All England winner’s achievement was a memorable one, as he was the only player in his discipline from a different nation to share the podium, which was entirely taken by Indonesian players.

Anup Sridhar (2007)

Anup Sridhar has been ranked as high as No. 24 in the world. He was a quarter-finalist at the 2007 World Championships.

At the Badminton Asia Championships 2007, he became the fourth Indian to win a medal at the tournament, after claiming a bronze.

H.S Prannoy (2018)

Prannoy won the bronze medal at the competition in 2018 (Courtesy: BAI)

Prannoy is counted amongst the very few players with impressive fighting capability on the court. The Commonwealth Games bronze medalist also secured a bronze at the Badminton Asia Championships in 2018.

Women’s Singles

Meena Shah (1965)

Meena was a national badminton champion several times in her career. She won the bronze medal at the Badminton Asia Championships in 1965, becoming the first Indian woman to do so.

Saina Nehwal (2010, 2016 & 2018)

Saina Nehwal has been one of the India’s most successful female players. She has won medals at almost all the major events on the world tour. At this tournament, the former World No. 1 has won bronze medals on three different occasions in 2010, 2016 and 2018.

PV Sindhu (2014)

Former world champion Pusarla Venkata Sindhu is another greatly consistent player who has achieved various feats at major achievements. She is the only Indian player to win gold at the World Championships. At the Asia Championships, she won a bronze medal in the year 2014, adding to her tally of medals at big events.

Men’s Doubles

Dipu Ghosh & Raman Ghosh (1971)

Dipu Ghosh and Raman Ghosh, also known as the ‘Ghosh Brothers’ were one of the very consistent pairs of their time. The duo participated in various international tournaments such as the All England Open.

They were also the national champions seven times. They won a bronze at the Badminton Asia Championships back in 1971.

Syed Modi & Prakash Padukone (1978)

Both Syed Modi and Prakash Padukone were singles players and specialists. However, both of them were paired up for the Badminton Asia Championships 1978.

The pair brought home a bronze medal which was contrary to everyone’s expectations, as India were only rising at a snail’s pace during that period.

Women’s Doubles

Jwala Gutta & Ashwini Ponnappa (2014)

The pair of Jwala and Ashwini won the bronze medal at the Badminton Asia Championships in 2014 (Courtesy: DNA India)

Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa won numerous titles, including a gold at the Commonwealth Games in 2010 and bronze at the World Championships in 2011.

At the Badminton Asia Championships, the duo secured a bronze in 2014 and remain the only women’s doubles pair to do so.

Mixed Doubles

Owen Roncon & Sarojini Apte, A.I. Sheikh & Achala Karnik (1965)

The duos of Owen-Sarojini and Sheikh-Achala each won a bronze medal at the Badminton Asia Championships in 1965, adding to their country’s already successful run at the tournament back then.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.