The total number of COVID-19 cases have surpassed 10,000 mark in India.

Hockey India has postponed the remaining various annual categories of the 2020 National Championships which were scheduled earlier to begin from April 29 onwards at different venues spread across the country.

The decision was taken following the extension of nation-wide lockdown till May 3 announced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday.

“Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent extension of the nation-wide lockdown, we have taken a decision to postpone the remaining annual 2020 National Championships keeping in mind the well-being of all our stakeholders including the players, coaches, organisers, fans and officials,” said Hockey India President Mohd Mushtaque Ahmad.

He remarked, “These tournaments have been postponed indefinitely and we will announce new dates basis the evolution of the COVID-19 situation in India. At this moment, we are working with the Government of India along with the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and all the other relevant Central and State Government departments to ensure that all necessary precautions are duly taken to maintain the public health and welfare of all parties involved.”

He further stated that the participating member units must use this period to continue to update the member unit portal with player details. Ahmad said, “We would like to thank the various hosts and member units who have been extremely cooperative to accommodate the request to postpone. I would also like to urge all the participating member units to continue to update the member’s portal with player’s registrations and use this time effectively.”

The championships that have been postponed indefinitely are as follows:

10th Hockey India Junior Women National Championship 2020, Ranchi, Jharkhand (B & A Division); 10th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship 2020, Chennai, Tamil Nadu (B & A Division); 10th Hockey India Sub Junior Women National Championship 2020, Hisar, Haryana (B & A Division).

10th Hockey India Sub Junior Men National Championship 2020, Imphal, Manipur (B & A Division); 10th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2020, Guwahati, Assam (B Division)