India’s biggest ever contingent of 54 para-athletes will contest at the upcoming quadrennial event.

The 2020 Tokyo Paralympics are going to start on Tuesday, 24 August 2021 after the conclusion of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. The event will run until Sunday, 5th September 2021. India will be one of the participating nations, as they have been since the first edition. 

The para-athletes will look to take inspiration from the Olympic athletes who delivered seven medals overall. 54 Indian para-athletes will be contesting in nine different events and eyes will be on athletics especially. They will hope to improve on the 2016 Rio Paralympics where India won a total of four medals including two golds. 

Here is a full schedule of events Indian para-athletes will be representing the country in.


27th August
  • Men’s Recurve Individual Open – Harvinder Singh, Vivek Chikara (10.30 am onwards)
  • Men’s Compound Individual Open – Rakesh Kumar, Shyam Sundar Swami (10.30 am onwards)
  • Women’s Compound Individual Open – Jyoti Baliyan (05.30 am onwards)
28th August
  • Compound Mixed Team Open – Jyoti Baliyan & TBC (2pm onwards)

India has never won a Paralympics medal in the archery event. Therefore, the Tokyo Paralympics will be a great opportunity for the archery team to deliver the first medal for India. Harvinder Singh is one of the main hopefuls for a medal.


Pramod Bhagat is India’s biggest hope in badminton at the Tokyo Paralympics (Courtesy: ESPN)
1st September
  • Men’s Singles SL3 – Pramod Bhagat, Manoj Sarkar (2.30 pm onwards)
  • Women’s Singles SU5 – Palak Kohli (2.30 pm onwards)
  • Mixed Doubles SL3-SU5 – Pramod Bhagat & Palak Kohli (5.30 am onwards)
2nd September
  • Men’s Singles SL4 – Suhas Lalinakere Yathiraj, Tarun Dhillon (5.30 am onwards)
  • Men’s Singles SH6 – Krishna Nagar (5.30 am onwards)
  • Women’s Singles SL4 – Parul Parmar (5.30 am onwards)
  • Women’s Doubles SL3-SU5 – Parul Parmar & Palak Kohli (5.30 am onwards)

Badminton is making it’s first appearance at the Paralympics. Indian para-shuttler Pramod Bhagat is the favourite to deliver a gold medal at the Tokyo Paralympics. He is the World No.1 in his category and will shoulder heavy expectations

Para Canoeing

2nd September
  • Women’s VL2 – Prachi Yadav (6am onwards)

Prachi Tadav is the sole para-athlete in the para-canoeing event at the Tokyo Paralympics. Hopes will be high on her in Tokyo, Japan.


27th August
  • Men’s 65kg – Jaideep Deswal (1 pm onwards)
  • Women’s 50kg – Sakina Khatun (7.30 am onwards)

Indian para-athletes have only won one medal at the Paralympics in powerlifting events previously. Jaideep Deswal and Sakina Khatun would like to add to Rajinder Singh Rahelu’s 2004 Athens bronze in the Tokyo Paralympics.


27th August
  • 200 Individual Medley SM7 – Suyash Jadhav (1.30 pm onwards)
3rd September
  • 50m Butterfly S7 – Suyash Jadhav, Niranjan Mukundan (5.30 am onwards)

Murlikant Petkar was the first-ever para-athlete to secure a medal at the Paralympics. He won it in the swimming event. Suyash Jadhav and Niranjan Mukundan will hope to add to his single medal at the Tokyo Paralympics.

Table Tennis

25th August
  • Individual C3 – Sonalben Madhubhai Patel (5.30 am onwards)
  • Individual C4 – Bhavina Hasmukhbhai Patel (5.30 am onwards)

Indian para-athletes in table tennis have high expectations from them. Sonalben Madhubhai Patel and Bhavina Hasmukhbhai Patel would like to deliver India’s first-ever medal in table tennis at the Tokyo Paralympics.


2nd September
  • Women’s K44 -49kg – Aruna Tanwar (6.30 am onwards)

Aruna Tanwar will be the sole representative from India in the sport of taekwondo at the Tokyo Paralympics. She will have the chance to create history and deliver India’s first-ever Paralympics medal in the sport.


Rahul Jakhar is a medal hopeful at the Tokyo Paralympics (Credits: Indian Shooting)
30th August
  • Men’s R1 – 10 m air rifle standing SH1 – Swaroop Mahavir Unhalkar, Deepak Saini (5 am onwards)
  • Women’s R2 – 10 m air rifle SH1 – Avani Lekhara (5 am onwards)
31st August
  • Men’s P1 – 10 m air pistol SH1 – Manish Narwal, Deepender Singh, Singhraj (6 am onwards)
  • Women’s P2 – 10 m air pistol SH1 – Rubina Francis (6 am onwards)
1st September
  • Mixed R3 – 10 m air rifle prone SH1 – Deepak Saini, Sidhartha Babu & Avani Lekhara (6am onwards)
2nd September
  • Mixed P3 – 25 m pistol SH1 – Akash & Rahul Jakhar (6 am onwards)
3rd September
  • Men’s R7 – 50 m rifle 3 positions SH1 – Deepak Saini (6 am onwards)
  • Women’s R8 – 50 m rifle 3 positions SH1 – Avani Lekhara (6 am onwards)
4th September
  • Mixed P4 – 50 m pistol SH1 – Akash, Manish Narwal & Singhraj (6 am onwards)
5th September
  • Mixed R6 – 50 m rifle prone SH1 – Deepak Saini, Avani Lekhara & Sidhartha Babu (6 am onwards)

India is sending a huge contingent of para-shooters to the Tokyo Paralympics. They are expected to bring a few medals when the events start later in August and September.


Mariyappan Thangavelu will be looking to add his second gold medal at the Tokyo Paralympics (Credits: Paralympics)
28th August
  • Men’s Javelin Throw F57 – Ranjeet Bhati (3.30 pm onwards)
29th August
  • Men’s Discus Throw F52 – Vinod Kumar (3.30 pm onwards)
  • Men’s High Jump T47 – Nishad Kumar, Ram Pal (3.30 pm onwards)
30th August
  • Discus Throw F56 – Yogesh Kathuniya (6 am onwards)
  • Men’s Javelin Throw F46 – Sundar Singh Gurjar, Ajeet Singh, Devendra Jhajharia (6 am onwards)
  • Men’s Javelin Throw F64 – Sumit Antil, Sandeep Choudhary (6 am onwards)
31st August
  • Men’s High Jump T63 – Sharad Kumar, Mariyappan Thangavelu, Varun Singh Bhati (3.30 pm onwards)
  • Women’s 100m T13 – Simran (3.30 pm onwards)
  • Women’s Shot Put F34 – Bhagyashri Madavrao Jadhav (3.30 pm onwards)
1st September
  • Men’s Club Throw F51 – Dharambir Nain, Amit Kumar Saroha (3.30 pm onwards)
2nd September
  • Men’s Shot Put F35 – Arvind Malik (3.30 pm onwards)
3rd September
  • High Jump T64 (men’s)- Praveen Kumar (6 am onwards)
  • Men’s Javelin Throw F54 – Tek Chand (6 am onwards)
  • Men’s Shot Put F57 – Soman Rana (6 am onwards)
  • Women’s Club Throw F51 – Ekta Bhyan, Kashish Lakra (6 am onwards)
4th September
  • Men’s Javelin Throw F41 – Navdeep Singh (6 am onwards)

Athletics are the biggest medal hopes for India at the Tokyo Paralympics. Javelin throw events and high-jump are two events India is expected to perform well in during the Paralympics.

The Tokyo Paralympics will be exclusively broadcast on Eurosport.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and join our community on Telegram.