The quadrennial tournament will take place this year across two host countries.

Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup 2022 is upon us amidst a lot of anticipation. The quadrennial tournament is back and Spain along with the Netherlands are host nations for it. Starting from 1 July 2022 onwards, the prestigious tournament will run until 17 July 2022 to see which Women’s Hockey team is the best in the world.

The last two editions went to the Netherlands and they will be hoping to secure a hat-trick of titles. However, competition from teams like Argentina, Australia and India among others will be tougher than ever. During the last edition, the Republic of Ireland made it to the final and their journey was surprising yet impressive. Without a doubt, the upcoming Hockey World Cup will be full of exciting hockey action. 

There are many teams like India, England and Belgium among others that have never won the prestigious title. This will act as a motivation for them to win when the tournament begins in July. The history of the competition has been long and it makes for an interesting look at the teams that have won it multiple times. Here are the teams with the most number of titles at the Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup:

4) Germany – 2 titles

The German women’s team in hockey is one of the toughest teams to beat. Similar to their male counterparts, the German women’s national hockey team is technically sound and physically unrelenting. In the past, the country has won the FIH World Cup on two occasions. They won it in 1976 as the host nation and then secured their second title in 1981.

Furthermore, Germany finished as runners-up on two different occasions in 1978 and 1986. They have also finished third on two occasions and will hope to add a third title to their record.

3) Australia – 2 titles

Australia is a country which prides itself on being a strong nation in every sport. Similarly, they are a strong team in field hockey as well. The Women’s team has won the FIH Hockey World Cup on two occasions as well.

Their first triumph came back in 1994 and the second in 1998. It has been 24 years since Australian women won the World Cup, therefore the hunger to end this draught will be pushing them this year. They also have three second-place finishes and one third-place finish.

2) Argentina – 2 titles

Since the turn of the century, only two teams have been winning the Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup. Over the five editions, two World Cup titles went to Argentina. The South American nation is a huge powerhouse in the world of field hockey. Both women’s and men’s team are tough to play against and their matches are physically demanding on the opponents.

Argentina won their first Women’s World Cup title in 2002 by beating the Netherlands in the final. The fixture went to the penalties where the Argentines won in an incredible manner. The second World Cup title came in 2010. They got the better of the Netherlands that year as well, beating them 3-1 in the final. Argentina was the host country in 2010 as well. They have finished second and third on three occasions each in the past.

1) Netherlands – 8 titles

There is no equal to the Netherlands when it comes to field hockey. The country prides itself on dominating women’s and men’s hockey. In terms of Women’s FIH Hockey World Cup titles, the country has eight to its name. The Dutch are also the defending champions, having won the last two editions convincingly.

In terms of years of their wins, the outfit has won the World Cup in 1974, 1978, 1983, 1986, 1990, 2006, 2014, and 2018. When the World Cup starts in Spain and Netherlands, the outfit will hope to make it a third successive win. 

The Netherlands also have four second-place finishes and one third-place finish. The World No.1 team is heavy favourites to win the title yet again at the 2022 edition of the tournament. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now on TwitterInstagram and Facebook.


Top five incredible records of Golden Boy Neeraj Chopra

Hockey India named Men’s squad for the Commonwealth Games

Jehan Daruvala will take part in F1 test with McLarens Formula 1 Team