Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Amateur Boxing

Elorda Cup 2024: Four male boxers claim bronze after semi-final exits; Nikhat Zareen, three others to fight for gold on Saturday

Published at :May 17, 2024 at 10:53 PM
Modified at :May 17, 2024 at 10:54 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : BFI)

Khel Now

Yaiphaba, Abhishek lose close bouts against Kazakh opponents.

Four Indian men pugilists Yaiphaba Singh Soibam, Abhishek Yadav, Vishal and Gaurav Chauhan ended their Elorda Cup 2024 campaign with bronze medals after going down in their respective semi-finals on Friday.

Yaiphaba (48kg) and Abhishek (67kg) suffered close 3-4 defeats against Kazakhstan’s Zhussupov Askhat and Mursal Nurbek respectively after their bouts were reviewed.

Meanwhile, Vishal (86kg) ended his campaign with a 0-5 loss against the reigning world champion Oralbay Nurbek of Kazakhstan. Gaurav also lost 0-5 to another Kazakh boxer, Tokyo Olympics bronze medallist Kamshybek Kunkabayev, in the 92+kg semi-finals.

Late on Thursday, Shalakha Singh Sansanwal (70kg) and Monika (81+kg) ended their campaigns with bronze medals after losing in their respective semi-finals.

On Saturday, Reigning world champion Nikhat Zareen (52kg), Minakshi (48kg), Anamika (50kg) and Manisha (60kg) will fight for the gold medals.

The finals will be played on Saturday.

Trending Indian Sports articles

India’s complete squad for Elorda Cup 2024

Women’s Squad: 48 Kg – Minakshi, 50 Kg – Anamika, 52 Kg – Nikhat Zareen, 54 Kg – Sonia, 57 Kg – Parveen, 60 Kg – Manisha Maun, 63 Kg – Sonu, 66 Kg – Manju Bamboriya, 70 Kg – Shalakha Singh Sansanwal, 75 Kg – Lovlina Borgohain, 81 Kg – Lalfakmawii Ralte, 81+ Kg – Monika

Men’s Squad: 48 Kg – Yaiphaba Singh Soibam, 51 Kg – Deepak, 54 Kg – Pawan Bartawal, 57 Kg – Kavinder Singh Bosht, 60 Kg – Varinder Singh, 63.5 Kg – Shiva Thapa, 67 Kg – Abhishek Yadav, 71 Kg – Hitesh, 75 Kg – Ishmeet Singh, 80 Kg – Sanjay Kumar, 86 Kg – Vishal, 92 Kg – Naveen Kumar, 92+ Kg – Gaurav Chauhan

Coaches & Supporting Staff: Coach Incharge – Lalit Prasad, Coach – Trideep Borah, Coach – L.Devendro Singh, Coach – Torak Kharpran, Coach – Pranamika Borah, Coach – Amritpal Kaur, Coach – Md. Aitesamuddin, Coach – Jaisingh Dyandev Patil, Doctor – Shubham Ahuja, Physiotherapist – Sumya Jyoti Halder, Physiotherapist – Priyanka Kumar

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram