Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


Shaili Singh records second longest long jump in all-time India list at Indian Grand Prix 4 2023

Published at :April 16, 2023 at 12:18 PM
Modified at :May 6, 2023 at 7:35 AM
Post Featured Image

M Sudharshan

Tajinderpal Singh also showed good form with a 21. 20m throw.

The last domestic senior national athletics tournament (before the Federation Cup) Indian Grand Prix 4 has ended on a positive note. Players have started to gear up for the all-important 2023 season that has many high-profile tournaments (World Championships, Asian Games, and Diamond Leagues) lined up. Shaili Singh stole the limelight with a leap of 6.76m (second longest jump after Anju Bobby George’s 6.83m) in the women's long jump.

U-20 World Championships 2020 silver medallist, Shaili, trains at Anju Bobby George academy in Bangalore. The Uttar Pradesh athlete showed good consistency as all her four legal jumps were above the 6.50m mark.

In the men’s shot put, National Record holder Tajinderpal Singh missed out on getting an automatic entry to the World Championships by 0.20m clocking 21.20m. He was going through a rough patch since the second half of the 2022 season and was finding it hard to get to the 20m mark but at IGP 4 Tajinder crossed the 20m mark five times with Karanveer Singh his statemate finishing second (19.20m).

Baranica Elangovan bettered her PB mark by jumping 4.10m in the pole vault to claim the top spot. After achieving her personal best, Baranica tried to breach the National Record (4.21m - Rosy Meena Paulraj) and elevated the crossbar to 4.22m. She tried her best but failed to cross the mark in all three attempts.

National Record holder Jyoti Yarraji had a poor start as she was disqualified for committing a false start in the 100m. She came back harder and clocked her personal best time in 200m (22.60 sec) with the headwind reading -2.4m/s. Many athletes found it difficult to get to their personal best marks with strong head-winds across IGP 3 and IGP 4 in Bengaluru.

Manu DP and Rohit Yadav crossed the 80m mark in the men’s javelin throw. Tokyo Olympian Shivpal Singh made a good comeback post the doping suspension clocking 79.70m.

Notable Results from Indian Grand Prix 4

Shaili Singh - 6.76m (Long Jump) (PB)

Tajinderpal Singh Toor - 21.20m (Shot Put)

Amoj Jacob - 46.13 seconds (400m)

Jyoti Yarraji - 23.60 seconds (200m) (PB)

Baranica Elangovan - 4.10 (Pole Vault) (PB)

Manu DP - 84.33m (Javelin Throw)