India record best-ever medal tally in World Para Athletics Championships 2023

M SudharshanM Sudharshan

July 20 2023
World Para Athletics Championships 2023

Several para athletes also booked Paralympics quotas for Paris 2024.

India ended its campaign at the World Para Athletics Championships 2023 by securing ten medals (gold – three, silver – four, bronze – three) in Paris. This is India’s best ever performance at the World meet bettering their performance from the last edition (nine medals in Dubai 2019).

Sumit Antil, Ajeeth Singh, and Sachin Khilari secured gold medals in respective categories. Tokyo Olympic gold medallist, Sumit Antil created yet another world record by spearing the javelin to 70.83m and in the process also secured a quota for Paris Paralympics 2024. This is the second time Sumit is breaking his own world record and the sixth time overall.

Ajeet Singh added another gold medal to India’s medal tally by winning the Men’s Javelin Throw F46. His compatriot Sunder Singh Gurjar finished 4th, qualifying for the 2024 Paris Paralympics in the same event.

Top four athletes from an event qualify for the Paralympics 2024. Apart from the below ten athletes eight other Indians finished inside top four to secure a Paralympics spot.

Indian Sports Live Coverage on Khel Now

India’s medallists at World Para Athletics Championships 2023

NoAthlete nameSportMedal
1Ajeeth SinghMen’s Javelin Throw (F-46)Gold
2Sumit AntilMen’s Javelin Throw (F-64)Gold
3Sachin KhilariMen’s Shot Put (F-46)Gold
4Yogesh KhatuniyaMen’s Discuss Throw (F-56)Silver
5Nishad KumarMen’s High Jump (T-47)Silver
6Shailesh KumarMen’s High Jump (T-63)Silver
7RinkuMen’s Javelin Throw (F-46)Silver
8Praveen KumarMen’s High Jump (T-64)Bronze
9Ekta BhyanWomen’s Club Throw (F-51)Bronze
10PoojaWomen’s Javelin Throw (F-54)Bronze

Indians to secure Paris Paralympics 2024 spots apart from medallists

Kashish Lakra – Club Throw (F-51)

Mariyappan Thangavelu – High Jump (T-63)

Navdeep – Javelin Throw (F-51)

Dilip Mahadu – 400m (T-47)

Sundar Singh Gurjar – Javelin Throw (F-46)

Bhagyashri Jadhav – Shot Put (F-54)

Soman Rana – Shot Put (F-57)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram and join our community on Telegram.