List of all BWF World Tour Super 500 Series events of 2023

Chetan AnandChetan Anand

January 23 2023
BWF Super 500 Series

Grade 2 of the Ranking System has nine tournaments for the 2023-26 cycle.

The Super 500 grade is the Grade 2 (Level 4) of the BWF Tournament Ranking system. As for the 2023-26 cycle, the Super 500 level welcomes host cities from three new continents with tournaments in Australia, Canada, and Finland, joining tournaments in Hong Kong, China, Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Thailand, and an additional new host in Japan. The Japan Open has been added to this level to take place from 2023 onwards as a brand-new competition. That expands the Super 500 to 9 events.

Points Distribution in Super 500

At this level, the winners of these tournaments will receive 9,200 ranking points. The runners-up will be awarded 7,800 points and the semifinal finishers will get 6,420 points.

Event FinishWinnerRunner-UpSemi-finalistsQuarter-finalistsRound of 16 ExitRound of 32 ExitRound of 64 Exit
Points Awarded9,2007,8006,4205,0403,6002,200880

Prize Money Distribution (in USD)

The Total Prize Money in Super 500 is 420,000 USD for each competition.

Event WinnerRunner-UpSemi-finalistsQuarter-finalistsRound of 16 Exit

List of all the events

January 24 – January 29: Indonesia Masters

The 2023 Indonesia Masters, called Daihatsu Indonesia Masters for sponsorship reasons, will take place at the Istora Gelora Bung Karno, Jakarta from January 24 to January 29. It will be the third tournament of the 2023 BWF World Tour. India’s Srinath Kidambi, Lakshya Sen, HS Pronnoy, Saina Nehwal, and Malvika Bansod will face SH Rhustavito, K Naraoka, K Tsuneyama, Pai YP, and R Intanon respectively in the first round of their respective Singles’ category.

May 23 – May 28: Malaysia Masters

The newly-promoted Malaysia Open (Super 1000) served as the curtain-opener of this year’s World Tour. Whereas Malaysia Masters will resume the Super 500 in May. The tournament will take place at the Axiata Arena from May 23 to May 28. India has three gold medals in this event, courtesy of PV Sindhu (2013, 2016) and Saina Nehwal (2017).

May 30 – June 4: Thailand Open

Thailand Open is one of the seven original Super 500 events in the BWF Events structure set up in 2018. Since then, the only gold medal in India’s bag was bagged by the Men’s duo of Satwiksairaj and Chirag Shetty. Gold Medals before that include the campaigns of Sai Praneeth (2017), Srikanth Kidambi (2013), and Saina Nehwal (2012).

July 4 – July 9: Canada Open

From 2023, Canada Open will be a part of the BWF Super 500. The Canadian Open has a history of over 50 years which starts from the late 1950s. Starting as a separate tournament in 1962, India has only bagged three gold medals. The first one came through the Women’s duo of Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa in 2015. The following year was a brilliant tour for the Indian Men as Sai Praneeth bagged the Men’s Singles Gold while the duo of Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy did the same in Doubles.

July 18 – July 23: Korea Open

The Korean Open is another of seven original contests to be named in the Super 500. Over the years, it has had different host cities. The last two hosts were Suncheon (2022) and Incheon (2019). Seoul will host the Korean Open from July 18 to July 23.

PV Sindhu is the only Indian ever to clinch a gold medal in Korea.

August 1 – August 6: Australia Open

Australia in the international badminton arena has grown quite much since the previous decade. In 2011, it was promoted as the Grand Prix Gold event. From 2018 to 2022, it remained a Super 300 event of the BWF World Tour. From 2023 onwards, Australia Open will be a Super 500 tournament.

Sydney has been a witness to Nehwal’s (2014, 2016) and Kidambi’s (2017) gold medal campaigns in the past. But it’s yet to see an Indian climbing the top of the podium since 2018.

September 12 – September 17: Hong Kong Open

As a part of the Super 500, Hong Kong Open was cancelled last year due to the COVID-19 situation in the region. Legendary Shuttler Prakash Padukone was the first ever Men’s Singles Gold Medallist in 1982. Saina Nehwal followed her achievement by clinching the Women’s Singles Gold in 2010.

The tournament will take place in the Hong Kong Koliseum from September 12 to September 17.

October 10 – October 15: Arctic Open

Arctic Open is the first ever Super 500 event taking place in the entirety of Europe, let alone Finland or any other Nordic countries. Vantaa’s Energia Areena will host the 2023 Arctic Open from October 10 to October 15.

November 14 – November 19: Japan Masters

The 2023 Japan Masters will be the last Super 500 event of the calendar year. Kumamoto will be the final Super 500 fixture. In approximately one month, the BWF World Tour Finals will take place. Which is scheduled from December 13 to December 17.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Telegram.