Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score


Top 10 interesting facts about Indonesia Masters 2024

Published at :January 27, 2024 at 3:36 AM
Modified at :January 27, 2024 at 3:36 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Badminton Association of India)

Ankhi Dutta

HS Prannoy and Saina Nehwal are the only Indians to have clinched titles in this tournament.

The BWF Indonesia Masters 2024 is the third tournament of the 2024 BWF World Tour and is part of the Indonesia Masters championships, which have been held since 2010. This tournament is organized by the Badminton Association of Indonesia with sanction from the BWF.

Ratchanok Intanon and An Se Young along with Anthony Sinisuka Ginting are the most successful singles player in this tournament with two titles each. Zheng Si Wei and Huang Ya Qiong along with Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo and Marcus Fernaldi Gideon are the most successful pair at the tournament.

Indonesia Masters 2024 commenced on January 23rd and will conclude on January 28. Here are some interesting facts about the tournament.

Interesting facts from Indonesia Masters 2024

Indonesia has bagged 28 titles out of 65 finals in last 13 editions

Indonesians have asserted their dominance in the tournament since its inception, securing an impressive 43 percent of the winners’ medals, which translates to 28 out of 65, spanning across 13 editions.

Adriyanti Firdasari is the only Indonesian women’s singles player to win a title in this tournament

The longest wait for Indonesian success lies in the women’s singles category, where Adriyanti Firdasari’s triumph in 2014 stands as their solitary crown in the discipline. Despite their dominance in other categories, the women’s singles division has proven to be a challenging battleground for Indonesian players, making Firdasari’s achievement a notable highlight in their tournament history. Gregoria Mariska Tunjung this season made it to the quarterfinals.

Anders Antonsen has reached the final in three of the last five editions

Denmark are the only non-Asian nation to be victorious, winning two titles in men’s singles, Anders Antonsen (2019) and Viktor Axelsen (2022). While Axelsen has pulled out from this edition, Antonsen has reached the semis.

Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong are the most successful pair in tournament history

Three-time World Champions Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong won three back-to-back mixed doubles titles here at Indonesia Masters between 2018 and 2020. With their fourth title in 2022, the Chinese duo become the most successful pair ever to play in the tournament.

Ratchanok Intanon is the only champion from the inaugural edition to be in this year’s draw

Ratchanok Intanon was 15 when she won the inaugural edition back in 2010. She reached the quarterfinals of 2024 edition. Had she managed to win the title, she would have been the first singles player to win more than two titles in this tournament.

Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo/Marcus Fernaldi Gideon are the most successful Indonesians in the tournament

Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo and Marcus Fernaldi Gideon are the most successful men’s doubles pair in the tournament. They hold a total of three titles as a pair (2018, 2019, 2020). They also finished as runners-up in the 2021 edition of the tournament.

Vivian Hoo/Woon Khe Wei are the only Malaysians to have triumphed in this tournament

Vivian Hoo/Woon Khe Wei are the only Malaysians to have triumphed in this tournament. They won the women’s doubles title in 2011. That record will stay intact for now as Malaysia’s challenge ended in the quarterfinals stage in this edition.

Indonesia Masters was always a Super 500 (equal level at super series) except for 2021 when it was upgraded to Super 750 tournament

First held in 2010 in East Kalimantan, the Indonesia Masters has been a Super 500 event on the HSBC BWF World Tour except for the COVID-affected 2021 season when it was promoted to a 750 level.

South Korea and Japan are the only nations to win the men’s doubles title other than hosts Indonesia in this tournament

The pair of Kim Gi Jung and Kim Sa Rang (2012) and Takuro Hoki and Yugo Kobayashi (2021) are the only two non Indonesian pairs to have won a title in the tournament.

Indonesia, China and Thailand are the only nations to win the mixed doubles title at Indonesia Masters

The pair of He Hanbin-Bao Yixin (2011) Zheng Siwei-Huang Yaqiong (2018-20, 22) and Feng Yanzhe-Huang Dongping (2023) are the Chinese mixed doubles pairs to win. For Thailand, Dechapol Puavaranukroh and Sapsiree Taerattanachai won the title in 2021. Hosts Indonesia have witnessed four different pairs clinched the mixed doubles title, but their last win came in 2016.

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.