Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

Thomas And Uber Cup 2024

Top five countries with most Thomas Cup wins

Published at :May 5, 2024 at 8:15 PM
Modified at :May 15, 2024 at 11:48 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : BAI)

Ankhi Dutta

Only six different countries have won Thomas Cup in the last 32 editions.

Thomas Cup is the biggest prize in the men’s team world championships. The tournament has been held biennially since 1982, amended from being conducted every three years since the first tournament was held in 1948–1949. Heavyweights Indonesia, China, and Malaysia are multiple times winners of the title. Japan were the first nation to break the triopoly. Upcoming nations like India have also etched their name on the Cup. Denmark are the only non-Asian country to have lifted the title once. A total of six nations have won the title over the past 32 editions of the tournament.

List of Nations who have won the Thomas Cup

6. India (1)

India became the sixth different country to win the Thomas Cup. They are the defending champions of the event.

The only time they reached the final was in 2022. They beat the most successful country in the tournament Indonesia for the glory.

5. Denmark (1)

Denmark are the only non-Asian country to win the title. The Danes won the tournament in 2016. They had previously finished runners-up eight times, spanning from the first competition in 1949 to the 2006 tournament.

They won the title in the year 2016 and have been runners-up eight times (1949, 1955, 1964, 1973, 1979, 1996, 2004, 2006).

4. Japan (1)

Japan became the fourth different country to win the Thomas Cup breaking the dominance of the top three in the year 2014. This win also marked the rise of Kento Momota, who remained undefeated at the event helping Japan to win their maiden title.

Similarly, he remained undefeated in the year 2018 as well when Japan reached their second-ever championship final. They have won the title in 2014 and were runners-up in 2018.

Trending Indian Sports articles

3. Malaysia (5)

The first three titles since the introduction of the event were won by Malaysia. They have played in the final on 14 occasions and been runners-up the most times, losing nine finals.

Malaysia have won the title five times (1949, 1952, 1955, 1967, 1992*) and been the runners-up for a record nine times (1958, 1970*, 1976, 1988*, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002, 2014).

2. China (11)

China closely follows Indonesia with 11 titles, including five consecutive ones from 2004 to 2012. Since 1982, when they first entered the competition, China have won the most titles and have consistently been placed among the top four teams, except in 2016 and 2022, when they lost in the quarterfinals.

They have won the title on 11 occasions (1982, 1986, 1988, 1990, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2012*, 2018, 2024*) and have been runners-up thrice (1984, 2000, 2020).

1. Indonesia (14)

Indonesia have showcased undisputed dominance in the men’s team event by winning a whopping 14 titles. They won four consecutive titles from 1970 to 1979 and five consecutive titles from 1994 to 2002. China ended Indonesia’s 10-year reign as champions when they won the title in Jakarta in 2004. Indonesia have played in the final on 21 occasions. For the first time since their initial entrance in 1958, Indonesia failed to reach the top four in 2012.

They have won the title for a record 14 times (1958, 1961*, 1964, 1970, 1973*, 1976, 1979*, 1984, 1994*, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2020) and been a runner-up for 7 times (1967*, 1982, 1986*, 1992, 2010, 2016, 2022).

Note-* = Hosts

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.