Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Report: Lakshya Sen, Srikanth withdraw from Malaysia Masters 2024

Published at :May 7, 2024 at 11:22 PM
Modified at :May 21, 2024 at 8:27 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : BAI)

Ajay Gandhar

Sen & Srikanth were part of the recent Thomas and Uber Cup 2024 for India.

Indian badminton star Lakshya Sen has withdrawn from the upcoming Malaysia Masters 2024, a Super 500 tournament on the BWF World Tour Circuit. The prestigious event is scheduled to take place from May 21-26 at the Axiata Arena Bukit Jalil in Kuala Lumpur.

Sen, 22, had a solid run at the recent Thomas Cup, winning three out of his four matches, including a victory over reigning Asian Games champion Li Shifeng of China.

Sen has already qualified for the 2024 Paris Olympics along with HS Prannoy in the men’s singles category. No official statement has been released by the player or the Badminton Association of India (BAI) regarding the reason behind his withdrawal.

Sen is not the only Indian shuttler to miss the Malaysia Masters. Kidambi Srikanth, a member of the Thomas Cup team, has also withdrawn from the tournament. Kidambi’s failure to qualify for the Paris Olympics has been a disappointment for Indian badminton fans.

Other notable Indian withdrawals include Priyanshu Rajawat, Sameer Verma, and the men’s doubles pair of M.R. Arjun and Dhruv Kapila.

However, there is some reprieve for the global badminton fans as Viktor Axelsen will woo the crowd along with some top shuttlers.

The World No. 1 will be looking to end his recent title drought at the Malaysia Masters 2024, a crucial Super 500 event ahead of the Paris Olympics. The Dane is one of seven top 10 players in the world who have registered for the Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Tour tournament in Kuala Lumpur.

Joining Axelsen are Jonatan Christie (No. 3), Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (No. 7) of Indonesia, Anders Antonsen (No. 4) of Denmark, China’s Li Shifeng (No. 6), reigning world champion Kunlavut Vitidsarn (No. 8) of Thailand, and home favorite Lee Zii Jia (No. 10)

The Malaysia Masters, which began in 2009 as a Grand Prix Gold event, has since been elevated to a Super 500 tournament, attracting top players from around the world.

Trending Indian Sports articles

List of Indian shuttlers to withdraw from Malaysia Masters

  1. Lakshya Sen (Men’s singles)
  2. Srikanth Kidambi (Men’s singles)
  3. Priyanshu Rajawat (Men’s singles)
  4. Sameer Verma (Men’s singles)
  5. MR Arjun / Dhruv Kapila (Men’s doubles)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram