Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Men's doubles shuttlers who have mathematically qualified for Paris Olympics

Published at :May 7, 2024 at 10:17 PM
Modified at :May 21, 2024 at 8:25 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Badminton Photo/BAI)

Ankhi Dutta

Only one of Indonesia or China will send two representatives to men’s doubles discipline this Olympics.

Badminton, which debuted at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics and was featured as a demonstration sport in Munich in 1972 and Seoul in 1988, has secured its place in the Olympic Games. Since its official inclusion, China has become the most successful National Olympic Committee (NOC), winning a total of 47 medals, 20 of which are gold.

Indonesia is the second most successful nation in the sport, with 21 medals, including eight gold. While Denmark has historically been a European powerhouse, recent developments in other countries suggest that we may see some surprises at the upcoming Paris Olympics.

With less than three months remaining for the Paris Olympics qualifications, quotas are more or less finalised In the doubles competition, a maximum of two pairs are allowed per country if they are ranked in the top eight of the ‘Race to Paris rankings list’; otherwise, countries are limited to a single pair until the quota of 16 pairs is filled.

Let’s examine the list of men’s doubles shuttlers who have mathematically secured their spots and qualified for the Paris Olympics 2024:

Trending Indian Sports articles

List of men’s doubles shuttlers who have already mathematically qualified for the Paris Olympics

  • Liang Weikeng / Wang Chang (China) – Continental quota: Asia
  • Kang Min-hyuk / Seo Seung-jae (South Korea)
  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty (India)
  • Kim Astrup / Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (Denmark) – Continental quota: Europe
  • Aaron Chia / Soh Wooi Yik (Malaysia)
  • Takuro Hoki / Yugo Kobayashi (Japan)
  • Fajar Alfian / Muhammad Rian Ardianto (Indonesia)
  • Liu Yuchen / Ou Xuanyi (China)
  • Lee Yang / Wang Chi-lin (Chinese Taipei)
  • Ben Lane / Sean Vendy (Great Britain)
  • Supak Jomkoh / Kittinupong Kedren (Thailand)
  • Mark Lamsfuß / Marvin Seidel (Germany)
  • Adam Dong / Nyl Yakura (Canada) – Continental quota: America
  • Christo Popov / Toma Junior Popov (France)
  • Vinson Chiu / Joshua Yuan (United States)
  • Ondřej Král / Adam Mendrek (Czech Republic)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram