Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score


Thailand Open 2024: Satwik-Chirag clinch second title of 2024 with straight games win over Chinese pair

Published at :May 19, 2024 at 1:56 PM
Modified at :May 19, 2024 at 1:56 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Badminton Photo/BAI)

Ajay Gandhar

This is their second Thailand Open title.

India’s Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty clinched the Thailand Open 2024 title with a straight games victory over Chinese pair Chen Bo Yang and Liu Yi in the men’s doubles final on Sunday. The top-seeded Indian pair, ranked world no. #3, won 21-15, 21-15 against the unseeded Chinese duo in a match that lasted 46 minutes at the Impact Arena in Bangkok.

With the title triumph, their 10th career BWF World Tour title as a pair, Rankireddy and Shetty are set to regain the world no. #1 ranking which they achieved for the first time earlier this year after winning Asian Games Gold last year. The victory also marks their second title in 2024, having previously won the French Open in March.

In the final on Sunday, the Indian pair had to overcome a mid-game fightback from Chen and Liu in both games before emerging victorious.

The first game was a tight affair until the Indians earned a crucial 12-11 lead after Shetty won a successful review. They then pulled away to pocket the opening game 21-15.

Satwik-Chirag raced to an 11-6 lead at the interval of the second game. However, the Chinese pair clawed their way back to 15-14 before the Indian duo regrouped and closed out the match.

This was Rankireddy and Shetty’s second Thailand Open title, having first won the tournament in their breakthrough year of 2019 when they claimed their first BWF Super 500 crown.

Trending Indian Sports articles

Satwik-Chirag’s road to Championship

Round of 32

  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty beat Azryin Ayub/Tan Wee Kiong (21-13, 21-13)

Round of 16

  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty beat Xie Hao Nan/Zeng Wei Han (21-16, 21-11)


  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty beat Junaidi Arif/Roy King Yap (21-7, 21-14)


  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty beat Ming Che Lu/Tang Kai Wei (21-11, 21-12)


  • Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty beat Li Yi/Lin Chiu (21-15, 21-15)

For more updates, follow Khel Now on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on Whatsapp & Telegram