Khel Now logo
HomeSportsICC Women's World CupLive Cricket Score
Advertisement

India's tour of England 2025

"At the point of landing..."- MCC issues official statement on Akash Deep's delivery to dismiss Joe Root at Edgbaston amid allegations of no-ball

Vikas Singh Derek has a Master's in Journalism and has written more than 50,000 articles. He currently works as a cricket content writer at Khel Now.
Published at :July 8, 2025 at 12:05 PM
Modified at :July 8, 2025 at 12:10 PM
"At the point of landing..."- MCC issues official statement on Akash Deep's delivery to dismiss Joe Root at Edgbaston amid allegations of no-ball

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Akash Deep dismissed Joe Root in the second innings of the Edgbaston test.

The Indian Cricket Team defeated the England Cricket Team by 336 runs in the second test at Edgbaston in Birmingham. Indian pacer Akash Deep picked a ten-wicket haul in the match, including a six wickets in the second innings.

On day four of the match, Akash Deep castled the stumps of Joe Root with a peach in the second innings, providing a massive breakthrough to India. However, a controversy emerged after the delivery, with some terming it a no-ball. In the replays, Akash’s back foot was seen touching wide off the landing crease.

The third umpire did not intervene and termed it a legal delivery. However, some commentators like Jonathan Trott remarked on air that it was a no-ball. Some sections of the media also termed it a back-foot no-ball.

MCC declares Akash Deep’s delivery as legal

Now, Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has declared Akash’s delivery to dismiss Joe Root as legal. An MCC spokesperson told Cricbuzz that Akash’s delivery was not a no-ball according to ICC rules.

“On Day four of India’s Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball,” he said.

“While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law,” he further added.

“Clearly, at the point Deep’s foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently – that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery,” he clarified.

Meanwhile, Akash delivered a rocking bowling show in the encounter. England needed 608 runs to win the encounter. However, Akash’s six-wicket haul helped India end the opposition’s innings on 271. With India’s victory in the second test, the five-match test series is levelled at 1-1. Both teams will lock horns in the third test at Lord’s Cricket Ground in London from July 10.

How many wickets did Akash Deep take in the 2nd ENG vs IND test?

Akash Deep picked up ten wickets in the 2nd ENG vs IND test.

Who won the 2nd ENG vs IND test?

India won the 2nd ENG vs IND test by 336 runs.

What is the venue of 3rd ENG vs IND test?

The venue of the 3rd ENG vs IND test is Lord’s Cricket Ground in London.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.

Vikas Singh Derek
Vikas Singh Derek

Vikas Singh Derek is a core cricket-lover since childhood and has always followed the sport both in his personal and professional life. He started his school life by watching cricket at home with family. Later, he played cricket on the field at local clubs during college. After his Master's in Journalism from Mumbai, he followed his passion by covering cricket news across various digital media. Since 2015, he has been an aspiring sports journalist and cricket content writer with over 50K+ articles.

Advertisement
Advertisement