Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

Cric Videos

[Watch] Arshdeep Singh dismantles Andrew Balbirnie's stumps in India's ICC T20 World Cup 2024 opener

Published at :June 5, 2024 at 8:53 PM
Modified at :June 5, 2024 at 8:53 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Twitter)

Utkarsh Rathour


Arshdeep Singh struck twice in the over to get rid of both the Irish openers.

In Group A match at the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, Indian left-arm speedster Arshdeep Singh’s stunning delivery dismantled Ireland opener Andrew Balbirine’s stumps at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York, on June 5.

After winning the toss and opting to bowl first on a bowling friendly pitch, Indian pacers and especially Arshdeep Singh troubled Irish batters right from the start.

Skipper Paul Stirling along with Balbirnie opened the innings for Ireland. In the very first over bowled by Indian speedster Arshdeep, he just gave up three runs. Right-arm speedster Mohammed Siraj bowled the next over and kept things tight as he just gave up four runs.

Arshdeep Singh knocks off Andrew Balbirnie stumps

In the third over of the Irish innings, Arshdeep showcased his class as he removed both of the Ireland openers.

On the very first delivery, Arshdeep bowled a length ball on the leg stump line, and skipper Stirling tried to slog across the line, but he managed to get a thick edge, and wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant took the catch easily as Arshdeep drew the first blood.

On the last ball of the third over, Arshdeep castled Balbirnie’s stumps. The left-arm pacer bowled a length ball across the middle stump, and the Irish batter stayed on leg-side and looked to steer it to deep third man. However, the ball stayed a touch low, and Balbirnie was beaten by the angle as the ball crashed onto his off-stump.

Here is the video:

Playing XIs of both teams:

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj

Ireland (Playing XI): Paul Stirling(c), Andrew Balbirnie, Lorcan Tucker(w), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little, Benjamin White

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.