Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Mitchell Marsh to lead Australia's 15-man squad in ICC T20 World Cup 2024; Steve Smith snubbed

Published at :May 1, 2024 at 10:16 AM
Modified at :May 1, 2024 at 10:16 AM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Rutvij Joshi


Ashton Agar is the only surprising pick in the Australian squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced its 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup to be held in the United States and the West Indies. The squad will be led by all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, announced George Bailey, the chairman of selectors for CA.

The announcement was made after a thorough selection process, with the selectors opting for a blend of experience and exuberance. Notably, former captain Steve Smith has been left out of the squad, raising a few eyebrows in the cricketing fraternity.

The squad boasts of a strong core of players, with the likes of David Warner, Pat Cummins, and Glenn Maxwell providing invaluable experience from their recent ODI World Cup in India. Exciting young talents like Tim David, Josh Inglis, and Nathan Ellis have also been included, highlighting Australia’s focus on building for the future.

George Bailey believes that the squad is filled with players having an experience in the World Cup and believes the team can overcome any scenarios in the showpiece event. He went on and said “This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents.”

Slow left-arm spinner Ashton Agar has been called upon in the squad who last featured for the Kangaroos in the 2022 T20 WC at home. “It’s great to have Ashton Agar back into the squad following a spate of unfortunate and untimely injuries. We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options,” Bailey said.

Mitch Marsh, the newly announced full time T20 skipper shared his thoughts on his announcement as full time skipper and said , “It’s been an immense privilege to play for my country and now an even greater honour to lead the squad to a World Cup.”

He further went on and quipped, “We have had some strong success in recent times and I am hopeful that will continue in what looks like a wide-open tournament.”

Australia finds themselves placed in Group B alongside England, Scotland, Namibia, and debutants Oman. The tournament promises to be an exciting affair, with the world’s best teams battling it out for the prestigious T20 title.

Australia will kick off their T20 World Cup journey against Oman in Barbados on June 5. Following this, they will face off against England, Namibia, and Scotland in Group B fixtures.

Australia squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.