IPL 2023

David Warner becomes first batsman to score 500+ runs in an IPL season 7 times


May 20 2023
David Warner

David Warner’s best season was IPL 2016, when he hammered 848 runs in 17 matches with 9 fifties.

On May 20, 2023, the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi hosted the final IPL 2023 league stage match for Delhi Capitals (DC) who took on Chennai Super Kings (CSK).  

Gujarat Titans, who are more than confirmed to compete in Qualifier 1, are ahead of CSK in the standings. CSK with seven victories from 13 games, must win this one to ensure playoff qualification. Especially after losing their previous home game to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

DC, on the other hand, were the first team to be eliminated from the IPL 2023 playoffs race and most recently eliminated Punjab Kings after defeating them in their last league match of the tournament.

They got off to a fantastic start when MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first in the stifling Delhi heat.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway’s mammoth 141-run opening partnership was the highlight of the CSK innings. Ruturaj was the aggressor and scored 79 in 50 balls with 3 fours and 7 sixes, while Conway almost batted through scoring 87 with 3 sixes and 11 fours.

CSK finished with a huge 223/3 with Shivam Dube making 22 in 9 and Ravindra Jadeja smacking 20* in 7 at the end of 20 overs.

David Warner scores 500 plus runs in an IPL season for the seventh time, becomes the first to do so

When DC came out to bat, they suffered an early jolt as Prithvi Shaw, who had scored a fifty in his last game, was dismissed for 5 runs courtesy an excellent catch by Ambati Rayudu.

Then, it was a procession of wickets at one end as Phil Salt (3), Rilee Russouw (0), Yash Dhull (13) and Akshar Patel (15) were the next best scorers to their captain Warner who played a single-handed face-saving knock.

Warner scored 86 in 56 balls (5 sixes, 7 fours) with his fifty coming in 32 balls.

During this knock, Warner went past the 500-run mark in IPL 2023 and also became the first batter to do so in 7 IPL seasons. His best season was 2016, when hammered 848 runs in 17 matches with 9 fifties and led the SRH team to their maiden IPL title.

Here is the list of batters scoring 500 plus runs in an IPL season the most number of times:

1 – David Warner – 7 (2014,2015,2016,2017,2019,2020,2023)

2 – Virat Kohli – 6 (2011,2013,2015,2016,2018,2023)

3 – Shikhar Dhawan – 5 (2012,2016,2019,2020,2021)

4 – KL Rahul – 5 (2018,2019,2020,2021,2022)

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.