Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Jofra Archer returns as defending champions England name squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Published at :April 30, 2024 at 3:36 PM
Modified at :April 30, 2024 at 3:36 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Getty Images)

Utkarsh Rathour


Jos Buttler-led England will kick-off their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 campaign against Scotland.

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced their provisional 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The marquee event will be hosted by the West Indies and the USA in the month of June. The defending champions will be led by wicket-keeper Jos Buttler.

In a major boost for the Three Lions, their star pacer Jofra Archer has made a comeback in the initial squad after being sidelined for so many months due to an injury. While their death bowling specialist and T20 World Cup 2022-winning member Chris Jordan also has been recalled to the side.

After a stunning performance with the ball in the five-match test series against India, left-arm spinner Tom Hartley earned his maiden T20I call-up as he will be the second specialist spinner after veteran leg-spinner Adil Rashid in the 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2024.

All-rounder Mooen Ali and aggressive opening batter Ben Duckett have also been named in the squad for the upcoming tournament. England’s top four includes Jos Buttler, Will Jacks, Phil Salt, and Jonny Bairstow, who are in outstanding form in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. Jacks and Hartley will be playing their first ever ICC tournament.

The defending champions will fly to the Caribbean on May 31 ahead of their first game against Scotland in Barbados on June 4. They are in Group B alongside arch-rivals Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman. Moreover, seven England cricketers, who are currently in India for IPL 2024 and have been named in the squad for Pakistan T20Is and T20 World Cup, will fly back from India to home before the IPL 2024 playoffs.

England squad for the T20 World Cup 2024:

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Ben Duckett, Tom Hartley, Will Jacks, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Reece Topley, and Mark Wood.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.