Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Australia squad, schedule, timings, venues and all you need to know

Published at :May 27, 2024 at 7:27 PM
Modified at :May 27, 2024 at 7:27 PM
Post Featured Image

Jatin Khandelwal


Australia won the T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE under Aaron Finch. They will be led by new skipper Mitchell Marsh in this year’s tournament.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh will be leading the Australian cricket team for the first time in a senior men’s ICC tournament when the 2021 champions take the field in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The T20 World Cup 2024 will be hosted by the West Indies and USA in June.

Cricket Australia (CA) announced their 15-man squad on May 1 with Marsh named as the captain. The Australian selectors made the tough call of leaving out young Jake Fraser-McGurk, who took the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 by storm with his fireworks with the bat for Delhi Capitals (DC). However, Fraser-McGurk will be travelling alongside the team as reserve player.

On expected lines, the squad includes the big three fast bowlers – Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazlewood. Nathan Ellis is the fourth seamer in the squad. Adam Zampa is the lead spinner with Ashton Agar as the second spinner in the squad. Glenn Maxwell provides Marsh with an off-spinning option.

Josh Inglis and Matthew Wade are the two wicket-keepers in the 15-man squad. Cameron Green and Marcus Stoinis are two other seam-bowling all-rounders.

The biggest name that is missing is Steve Smith, although it wasn’t a surprise. Smith was dropped from the T20I XI in the T20 World Cup 2022 and recently wasn’t picked at the IPL auction. He also didn’t do much in his last four T20Is as an opener. Travis Head, David Warner, and Marsh are set to form the top three.

Australia’s full schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

Australia are placed in Group B alongside Oman, England, Namibia, and Scotland. They are expected to dominate this group and enter the Super 8 stage.

Here is Australia’s Group B schedule:

  • June 5: Australia vs Oman
  • June 8: Australia vs England
  • June 11: Australia vs Namibia
  • June 15: Australia vs Scotland

Venues and timings of Australia’s group stage matches in the T20 World Cup 2024:

Mitchell Marsh’s team will play their first two group-stage matches, against Oman and England, in Barbados. Their next game against Namibia will be held in Antigua, and their last group-stage fixture against Scotland will be hosted in St. Lucia.

Three of Australia’s group-stage matches will be played at 8.30 PM local time and one game, against England, at 1.00 PM local time. The timings in IST are given below.

  • June 5: Australia vs Oman, Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados, 8.30 PM local/6.00 AM IST
  • June 8: Australia vs England, Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados, 1.00 PM local/ 10.30 PM IST
  • June 11: Australia vs Namibia, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua, 8.30 PM local/6.00 AM IST
  • June 15: Australia vs Scotland, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia, 8.30 PM local/6.00 AM IST

Australia’s squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Mitchell Marsh (C), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Adam Zampa

Reserves: Jake Fraser-McGurk and Matt Short

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.