Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Sri Lanka squad, schedule, timings, venues and all you need to know

Published at :May 28, 2024 at 4:07 PM
Modified at :May 28, 2024 at 4:07 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


Wanindu Hasaranga will lead the Sri Lanka side in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

The Sri Lankan Cricket Board (SLC) announced 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024 on May 9. The upcoming global tournament will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the USA in June.

The Sri Lankan selection committee named veteran all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga as skipper of the Sri Lanka cricket team. It is to be noted that the premier all-rounder was named Sri Lanka’s full-time T20I captain in December 2023.

On the other hand, left-handed batter Charith Asalanka has been appointed as Hasaranga’s deputy for the upcoming tournament. The selection committee has included plenty of experienced players in the squad. Dasun Shanaka, ODI skipper Kusal Mendis, and test captain Dhanajaya de Silva have been named in the Sri Lanka squad.

In a surprising turn of events, veteran all-rounder Angelo Mathews, who was part of Lanka’s title triumph in the 2014 edition, has also been included in the squad for the T20 World Cup 2024.

In the pace department, the selection committee has named Matheesha Pathirana and Nuwan Thushara. The duo will bring X-factor to Lanka’s set up with their slingy bowling actions. Dushmantha Chameera and Dilshan Madushanka are the other two speedsters who have been included in the T20 World Cup 2024 squad.

Sri Lanka’s full schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

The Hasaranga-led side is placed in Group D along with South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal.

Sri Lanka will begin their league stage journey on June 3 against South Africa. They will then face Bangladesh on June 7. Their third group stage match is against Nepal on June 11, followed by a game against the Netherlands on June 16.

  • June 3: vs South Africa
  • June 7: vs Bangladesh
  • June 11: vs Nepal
  • June 16: vs Netherlands

The Super 8 stage will begin on June 19 and run until June 25. Then, the semi-finals will take place on June 26 and 27, followed by the final on June 29.

In which venues will Sri Lanka play their group stage matches in the T20 World Cup 2024?

Sri Lanka will play their first match against South Africa at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York on June 3. Their next match against arch-rivals Bangaldesh will be played at the Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas.

Their third match against Nepal will be hosted at the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill. Then Sri Lanka will head towards the Caribbean Islands to play their final league stage match against Netherlands at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia, on June 16.

  • June 3: vs South Africa, Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York
  • June 7: vs Bangladesh, Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas
  • June 11: vs Nepal, Central Broward Park & Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida
  • June 16: vs Netherlands, Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia

What are the timings of Sri Lanka’s matches in T20 World Cup 2024?

The first match between Sri Lanka and South Africa in New York is scheduled to be played at 8:00 p.m. IST/9:30 a.m. local time. The second group-stage match against Bangladesh will be played at 6:00 AM IST (June 8)/7:30 PM local time (June 7).

The third match against Nepal will be played at 5:00 AM IST (June 12)/07:30 PM local time (June 11). Their final group stage match against the Netherlands will be played at 6:00 a.m. IST (June 17)/8:30 p.m. local time (June 16).

Note: This is just group stage match timings.

Sri Lanka squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka

Traveling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Janith Liyanage.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.