Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: List of teams who have qualified for Super 8

Published at :June 12, 2024 at 11:43 PM
Modified at :June 17, 2024 at 10:13 AM
Post Featured Image

Jatin Khandelwal


The top two teams from the four groups will reach the Super 8 round of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 kick-started on June 1 in the West Indies and USA. This is the biggest men’s T20 World Cup in history in terms of the number of teams (20) contesting in the main tournament.

The 20 teams are grouped into four groups of five teams each. The top two teams from each group will enter the Super 8 round. There, two groups will be formed of four teams each. The top two sides in each of the two Super 8 groups will proceed to the semi-final stage.

With the group stage nearing its end, a few teams have already qualified for the next round. On that note, let’s take a look at the teams who have already qualified.

Here’s the list of teams who have qualified for the Super 8 round of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024:

1. South Africa

South Africa became the first nation to qualify for the Super 8 round when they secured their third win of the group stage in as many games.

Placed in Group D, the Proteas started their campaign with a 6-wicket win over Sri Lanka. They then emerged victorious in two closely fought contests against the Netherlands (by four wickets) and against Bangladesh (by four runs). South Africa have one game in the group round remaining, against Nepal.

2. Australia

Placed in Group B, the Mitchell Marsh-led Australia thumped Oman, England and Namibia to become the second team to enter the Super Eight round. The 2021 T20 world champions got their campaign underway with a 39-run victory over Oman.

Their statement win came against defending champions England by 36 runs. Australia secured their progression in the next round with a bumper 9-wicket win over Namibia. They have one match left in the group stage, against Scotland.

3. India

The Rohit Sharma-led Team India became the first team from Group A to enter the Super 8 stage of the competition. India first thumped Ireland by 8 wickets. Then in the clash against arch-rivals Pakistan, the bowlers produced a sensational show to defend 119 by six runs. With a 7-wicket win over the USA, India booked their place in the next round.

4. West Indies

Co-hosts West Indies became the first team from Group C to qualify for the Super 8 round. They did it after winning their first three group-stage matches. West Indies recorded a five-wicket win over Papua New Guinea to start their tournament before defeating Uganda by 134 runs. A 13-run victory over New Zealand ensured their progression to the next round.

5. Afghanistan

Afghanistan became the second team from Group C to qualify for the Super 8 round, thus knocking out New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda. The Rashid Khan-led unit have been in imperious form in the tournament. They recorded victories over Uganda by 125 runs, New Zealand by 84 runs and PNG by 7 wickets.

6. USA

Co-hosts the USA became the sixth team to qualify for the Super Eight round of the ongoing tournament. They recorded victories over Canada and Pakistan, which was one of the biggest upsets in the history of the T20 World Cup. Although they lost to India, their wash-out against Ireland got them to five points, which sealed their spot in the next stage since Pakistan could only get to a maximum of four points.

7. England

Defending champions England have sneaked into the Super 8 round ahead of Scotland in Group B. Both England and Scotland finished with five points but Jos Buttler’s team had a superior net run rate.

They started the tournament with a wash-out against Scotland and then lost to Australia. But the defending champs bounced back with two thumping victories over Oman and Namibia to boost their net run rate, which helped them finish above Scotland.

8. Bangladesh

Bangladesh became the last team to qualify for the Super 8 round of the T20 World Cup 2024. They won three games – against Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Nepal – and lost only one, against South Africa, to finish second in Group D.

(List updated till 15th June, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.