Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Which two teams have made it to ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2024 from ongoing Qualifiers?

Published at :May 6, 2024 at 4:09 PM
Modified at :May 6, 2024 at 4:09 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : ICC)



The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be held in Bangladesh in October.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 is slated to be played in Bangladesh from 3 to 20 October.

Ten teams will play 23 matches over 18 action-packed days at two locations in Bangladesh, the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka and the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet, as the world’s best compete for the highest reward in women’s T20 cricket.

While eight teams were already confirmed for the event including India, Pakistan, Bangladesh (hosts), Australia, England, South Africa, New Zealand, and West Indies; there were two spots still remaining which were to be filled via ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers.  

The first spot was taken by Scotland, who qualified for their maiden Women’s T20 World Cup after winning the Qualifiers semi-final against Ireland. Ireland women’s captain Laura Delaney had won the toss and chosen to bat first. However, Kathryn Bryce sent back both openers for a duck and then removed Delany for 2 runs.

Leah Paul’s 45 and Ariene Kelly’s 35 powered Ireland to 110/9 in 20 overs. Kathryn Bryce took 4/8, while Rachel Slater took three wickets.

In the chase, Megan McColl made 50, while Kathryn Bryce made 35* and was joined by sister Sarah Bryce (5*) as Scotland women won the match by 8 wickets in 16.2 overs. Scotland not only qualified for the final of the Qualifiers but also booked their ticket to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Sri Lanka join Scotland in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 in Bangladesh

Joining Scotland in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 will be Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka overcame a stubborn UAE team in the second semi-final in Abu Dhabi.

UAE captain Esha Oza won the toss and chose to bowl first. Sri Lanka opener Vishmi Gunaratne made 45, while Harshitha Samarawickrama made 24 and captain Chamari Athapaththu made 21 runs as Sri Lanka posted 149/6.

In reply, UAE captain Oza made 66 runs, while Khushi Sharma made 21 runs, but none of the other batters could do anything more. UAE could only manage 134/7 in 20 overs and lost by 15 runs in the end.

Scotland and Sri Lanka will now play in the final of the Qualifiers the winner will be Qualifier 1 and the runners-up will be Qualifier 2.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.