Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Indian captains in ICC T20 World Cup history (2007-2024)

Published at :June 4, 2024 at 10:30 PM
Modified at :June 4, 2024 at 10:30 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, India won the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup.

In cricket, batters, bowlers and fielders showcase their skills to help their team win a game, but the role of a captain is also crucial for a unit to be successful, especially in the shortest format of the game where a captain needs to be on his toes every moment.

In the ICC T20 World Cup history, there have been a few brilliant Indian captains. Only one, though, has managed to clinch the T20 World Cup trophy.

Since the inaugural season in 2007 until now, the captain’s armband of the Indian cricket team has been passed only twice. Each of the three captains who have led India in the T20 world event has brought their unique style and thought process to the lead side in the T20 World Cups till now.

Let’s take a look at the Indian captains in the T20 World Cup history from 2007 to 2024.

1. 2007-2016 – MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni-led India won the 2007 T20 World Cup
MS Dhoni’s Team India won the 2007 T20 World Cup. (Image source: ICC)

The Inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup was held in South Africa in 2007. The MS Dhoni-led India made history by winning the first-ever ICC T20 World Cup. India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in a thrilling final to clinch the trophy. The young side led by Dhoni lost just one match in the tournament, against New Zealand in the Super 8 round.

After the title triumph in 2007, however, the Dhoni-led India failed to reach the semi-finals in the next three editions of the T20 World Cup. In the 2009, 2010 and 2012 World Cups, India suffered exits in the Super 8 round.

In the T20 World Cup 2014, which was hosted by Bangladesh, India under Dhoni dominated the whole tournament and reached the final undefeated. However, they suffered a heartbreaking defeat at the hands of Sri Lanka in the final..

The 2016 edition was held in India and provided a great opportunity for Dhoni to add another ICC silverware to his cabinet. But West Indies broke a billion hearts in the semi-final at the Wankhede.

The Men in Blue started their 2016 journey by losing to New Zealand. Then they won three consecutive games to reach the semi-final, where they lost to Daren Sammy’s side.

2. 2021 – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli-led India in 2021 T20 World Cup
Virat Kohli led India in the 2021 T20 World Cup. (Image source: Twitter)

Under the leadership of Virat Kohli, the Indian side had a forgettable T20 World Cup campaign in the 2021 edition, which was played in the UAE.

Out of five matches India played, they lost the first two crucial matches against Pakistan and New Zealand. Even after winning their next three games, against Afghanistan, Scotland, and Namibia, India couldn’t qualify for the semi-final. Kohli stepped down as the T20I captain after India’s group-stage exit.

3. 2022, 2024 – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma. (Image source: Twitter)

Rohit Sharma led the Indian team in the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia. India won four out of five matches in the Super 12 round, which included a famous win over Pakistan at the MCG. In the semi-final, though, India were thumped by 10 wickets by Jos Buttler’s England in Adelaide.

Rohit will captain the Men In Blue in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, which will be played in the West Indies and the USA.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.