Khel Now logo
HomeSportsLive Score

ICC U19 World Cup 2024

Indian captains to win ICC U19 World Cup title

Published at :February 10, 2024 at 1:10 PM
Modified at :February 10, 2024 at 1:10 PM
Post Featured Image

Khel Now

Mohammed Kaif was the first Indian captain to win an ICC U19 World Cup title.

The ICC U19 World Cup is one of the biggest platforms for youngsters to announce their arrival on the biggest stage. The tournament started back in 1988 and Australia won the inaugural edition, defeating Pakistan in the final. So far, 14 editions have taken place and India have won the most number of titles.

The India U19 team have won five titles in 2000, 2008, 2012, 2018 and 2022 and are the most successful team in the competition. The first player to lead India to victory was Mohammed Kaif back in 2000, defeating Sri Lanka in the final. In this article, we will talk about all Indian captains who have led India to win the ICC U19 World Cup.

List of Indian Captains to Win ICC U19 World Cup Title

5. Mohammed Kaif – 2000

Mohammed Kaif
Mohammed Kaif. (Image Source: ICC)

The ICC U19 World Cup 2000 was a 16-team tournament that was divided into four groups of four teams each. India were in Group B, along with New Zealand, Bangladesh and Netherlands. They topped the group stage and defeated Australia in the semi-finals by 170 runs.

In the final, India out-performed Sri Lanka to win their maiden title. Mohammed Kaif led the team to victory and Yuvraj Singh was awarded the Player of the Tournament.

4. Virat Kohli – 2008

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Image Source: ICC)

India won their second title in 2008 under the captaincy of Virat Kohli. This was probably the best tournament, as the likes of Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Trent Boult, Dinesh Chandimal and Ravindra Jadeja all competed in it.

India ended the group stage at the top. Then they went on to defeat New Zealand in the semi-finals and Virat won the MOTM award for his 43 (53) and 2/27. In the final, India defended a low score of 159 and defeated South Africa. Tanmay Srivastava was the leading run-scorer for India in that season with 262 runs.

3. Unmukt Chand –

Unmukt Chand
Unmukt Chand. (Image Source: ICC)

In 2012, India won their third title and this time it was Unmukt Chand who led the country to glory. That tournament had some big names like Travis Head, Ashton Turner, Ben Foakes, Ben Duckett, Reece Topley, Babar Azam, Litton Das and many more.

India finished second in the group stage. India went on to defeat Babar Azam-led Pakistan in the quarter-finals and outclassed New Zealand in the final. Baba Aparajith won Man of the Match awards in both the games. In the final, India faced Australia and skipper Unmukt Chand smashed an unbeaten 111 to take India to victory.

2. Prithvi Shaw – 2018

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw. (Image Source: ICC)

India won their fourth title in 2018 under Prithvi Shaw. The Indian team topped their group and smashed Pakistan by 203 runs in the semi-final. Shubman Gill scored 102 runs in that match. In the final, India defeated Australia by eight wickets to lift their fourth title.

Manjot Kalra won the MOTM award in the final. Gill won the Player of the Tournament award while India’s Anukul Roy was the joint-highest wicket-taker (14) of the tournament.

1. Yash Dhull – 2022 edition :

Yash Dhull
Yash Dhull. (Image Source: ICC)

Team India won the most recent ICC U19 World Cup 2022 under the leadership of Yash Dhull. This tournament was played in the West Indies with 16 participants. India finished their group at the top. Then, they defeated Bangladesh by five wickets in the quarter-finals and Ravi Kumar won the MOTM award.

In the semi-finals, India smashed Australia by 96 runs and captain Yash Dhull made a superb 110. India faced England in the finals and won the game by four wickets. Raj Bawa, who took 5/31, won the MOTM award.

(All stats updated till 13th January, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.

Trending Articles


  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2023 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.