Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

IPL 2024 updated points table, Orange Cap & Purple cap after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR

Published at :May 5, 2024 at 11:48 PM
Modified at :May 5, 2024 at 11:49 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


CSK and KKR won their respective matches in the IPL 2024 on May 5.

In the match No. 53 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) bounced back to winning ways after defeating Punjab Kings (PBKS) in a low-scoring affair at the HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala.

After being asked to bat first, CSK had a tough day with the bat. All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja top-scored with 46 runs, while skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (32) and Daryl Mitchell (30) also contributed with the bat. For PBKS, Harshal Patel and Rahul Chahar bagged three wickets each.

Chasing a below-par 168, PBKS batters failed with the bat as their opener Prabhsimran Singh (30) and middle-order batter Shashank Singh (27) contributed mostly while CSK bowlers took wickets at regular intervals.

Towards the end, with a brilliant display of bowling by CSK, they restricted hosts to 139/9 in 20 overs to win the match by 28. For CSK, Jadeja picked a three-wicket haul. Simranjeet Singh and Tushar Deshpande took two scalps each. Bowling all-rounders Mitchell Santner and Shardul Thakur picked one wicket each.

What happened during the LSG vs KKR IPL 2024 match?

In the second match of the blockbuster Sunday, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) posted a huge total of 235/6 against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in the match No. 54 of the IPL 2024 at the BRSABV Ekana Stadium. After being asked to bat first, KKR opener Sunil Narine smashed a brilliant 81-run knock and was their highest run-scorer.

Phil Salt (32), Angkrish Raghuvanshi (32), Andre Russell (12), skipper Shreyas Iyer (23) and Ramandeep Singh (25) contributed significantly with the bat as the visitors went on to score 235 runs against Lucknow. For the hosts, Naveen-ul-Haq scalped three wickets. While Yash Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, and Yudhvir Singh Charak picked one wicket each.

While defending 236, the visitors had a decent start with the ball as they picked four wickets in the first 10 overs. LSG Captain KL Rahul (25), Arshin Kulkarni (9), Marcus Stoinis (36) and Deepak Hooda (8) were back to the hut as hosts crumbled to 96/4 while chasing the target.

KKR bowlers kept taking wickets at regular intervals in the next 10 overs as they dismantled Lucknow’s batting order. The hosts were all out for 137 runs in response to Kolkata’s 235. The visitors won the one-sided match by a huge margin of 98 runs. With this win, Shreyas-led Kolkata strengthened their chances of reaching the IPL 2024 playoffs.

IPL 2024 Updated Points Table:

IPL 2024 Updated Points Table after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR
IPL 2024 Updated Points Table after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR

After the end of two exciting contests, defending champions CSK jumped to the third position with 12 points and NRR of 0.700 after winning the match against Punjab. After a crushing defeat, PBKS remained in the eighth position with eight points and negative NRR of -0.187.

After crushing Lucknow, Shreyas Iyer-led KKR dethroned Rajasthan Royals to become No. 1 ranked team with 16 points and an NRR of +1.453. After suffering a 98-run defeat, KL Rahul-led LSG slipped down at the fifth position with 12 points and a negative NRR of 0.371. Sunrisers Hyderabad are slotted at the fourth spot with 12 points and an NRR of +0.072.

Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bengaluru remained at the sixth and seventh spots respectively. The Capitals have 10 points, while Bengaluru have eight points. Gujarat Titans and Mumbai Indians are languishing at the bottom of the IPL 2024 standings with eight and six points respectively.

IPL 2024: Most Runs (Orange Cap)

IPL 2024 Orange Cap leaderboard after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR
IPL 2024 Orange Cap leaderboard after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR

After Sunday’s PBKS vs. CSK and LSG vs. KKR matches, there are three changes in the Orange Cap leaderboard. Chennai skipper Ruturaj, who scored 32, remained at the second place with 542 runs.

Meanwhile, Kolkata opener Narine, who smashed 81 runs jumped to third spot with 461 runs. His teammate Salt, who scored 32 runs against Lucknow, leapfrogged to fifth spot with 429 runs. Lucknow skipper Rahul jumped to the fourth place with 431 runs after scoring 25 runs against Kolkata.

On the other hand, former RCB captain Virat Continues continues to stay at the top despite three changes in the Orange Cap Leaderboard. Kohli has smashed 542 runs in 11 games till now.

IPL 2024: Most Wickets (Purple Cap)

IPL 2024 Purple Cap leaderboard after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR
IPL 2024 Purple Cap leaderboard after match 53 & 54, PBKS vs CSK & LSG vs KKR

After the end of matches 53 & 54, there were several changes seen in the IPL 2024 Purple Cap leaderboard.

PBKS’ Harshal Patel, who took three wickets and Arshdeep Singh, who took one wicket, find themselves at second and fifth spot respectively. Harshal has 17 wickets to his name, while Arshdeep has 15.

KKR mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy, who took three wickets against LSG, now finds himself at third position with 16 wickets to his name. Jasprit Bumrah still leads the chart with 17 scalps while Sunrisers Hyderabad’s T Natarajan finds himself at fourth spot with 15 wickets.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.