Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

List of Australian captains to win the IPL

Published at :May 25, 2024 at 2:37 PM
Modified at :May 25, 2024 at 2:37 PM
Post Featured Image

Jatin Khandelwal


Out of 16 IPL editions, only three have been won by an Australian captain.

It is an interesting fact that captains of only two nationalities have won the Indian Premier League (IPL) trophy: Indian and Australia. There have been South African and New Zealand skippers in the IPL, but among the overseas captains, only the Aussies have shown through and led their side to the title.

In the course of the first 16 editions of the tournament, 13 seasons have been won by teams with an Indian captain, while only thrice has an Australian player led his franchise to the ultimate glory in the biggest cricket league in the world.

In this article, we will discuss the three times an Aussie skipper won the IPL title.

Here’s the list of Australian captains to win the IPL:

1. Shane Warne – Rajasthan Royals, 2008

Shane Warne
Shane Warne. (Image source: IPL)

In one of the biggest surprises in the tournament’s history, Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the inaugural edition of the tournament. Not many had given RR the chance to even qualify for the semi-finals, but under the inspirational leadership of legendary Australian leg-spinner Shane Warne, plus significant contributions from all-rounder Shane Watson and Yusuf Pathan, RR won the first-ever IPL season.

RR topped the league phase and proceeded to defeat Delhi Daredevils (now Capitals) in the semi-final and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final.

2. Adam Gilchrist – Deccan Chargers, 2009

Deccan Chargers 2009
Deccan Chargers (Image-Twitter)

Deccan Chargers finished at the bottom of the points table in the 2008 season under VVS Laxman’s captaincy. This prompted a change in captaincy and Australian wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist was given the reins of the Chargers.

Gilchrist delivered instantly in 2009, which was played in South Africa, by taking Deccan Chargers to their maiden IPL title. They defeated Anil Kumble’s Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in the final by only six runs. Gilchrist was named the Player of the Tournament for his impressive batting (495 runs) and captaincy.

3. David Warner – Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2016

David Warner, SRH
David Warner. Image-PTI

David Warner and his Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) team overcame the godly form of Virat Kohli in the 2016 edition to defeat RCB at their home ground, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, in the final. Warner himself piled up 848 runs in the season.

Since the playoffs format was introduced in 2011, SRH are still the only team to win the IPL trophy after playing in the Eliminator match. They won three consecutive matches in the playoffs to clinch the title.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.