Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score


Indian cricketer Mohammed Shami conferred with Arjuna Award for outstanding performance in 2023

Published at :December 20, 2023 at 5:52 PM
Modified at :December 27, 2023 at 5:50 PM
Post Featured Image

Mihir Korde


Mohammed Shami will be presented with Arjuna Award for his outstanding performance in 2023.

In a testament to his exceptional cricketing skill-set, Indian speedster Mohammed Shami has been conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award for his outstanding performances in 2023. Shami’s remarkable achievements throughout the year, particularly during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 and Indian Premier League (IPL), solidified his position.

During ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, Shami emerged as the leading wicket-taker, showcasing his bowling mastery on the world stage. In seven matches he played, he scalped an impressive 24 wickets, averaging just 10.70 runs per wicket. His standout performance included a spectacular 7/57 against New Zealand at Wankhede Stadium on November 15, 2023. Despite India’s valiant effort, the team succumbed to Australia in the finals on November 19, 2023, in Ahmedabad.

Mohammed Shami conferred with Arjuna Award

Notably, his performance against Sri Lanka in world cup where he claimed 5 wickets for just 18 runs, highlighted his ability to dismantle the opposition’s batting line-up. His contributions were not limited to the World Cup, as he played a pivotal role in India’s ODI matches leading up to the tournament.

In IPL 2023, he won the purple cap for being the tournament’s top wicket-taker. His consistency and ability to deliver crucial breakthroughs made him an invaluable asset for his IPL team. The combination of his lethal pace and precision bowling made him a formidable force throughout the tournament.

In recognition of his exceptional achievements and unwavering commitment to the sport, Mohammed Shami was honored with Arjuna Award, a recognition shown upon athletes who have consistently exhibited exceptional skills and dedication. Shami’s journey in 2023 has not only etched his name in cricketing history but has also inspired aspiring cricketers worldwide. As he stands tall with Arjuna Award, it symbolizes not just personal glory but also the collective pride of Indian cricket.

Arjuna Award is set to be given on January 9, 2024, by the President of India. Amidst 26 accomplished sports personalities, Shami stands as the sole cricketing representative. This recognition not only celebrates his cricketing capabilities but also underscores the award’s significance in honoring athletes for their exceptional dedication and achievements.

The ceremony, graced by the President, highlights the nation’s appreciation for diverse sporting talents. Arjuna Awards, which recognize exceptional achievement in sports and games, is India’s second-highest athletic accolade. 57 cricketers have received this honor for their great performance in the sport.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.