Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Top 5 most successful Indian captains in T20I cricket

Published at :January 17, 2024 at 8:48 PM
Modified at :January 18, 2024 at 9:05 AM
Post Featured Image

Karan Rawat


Rohit Sharma has the best win percentage as an Indian captain in T20I cricket.

Team India created history when they became the first team to win the ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 in South Africa. They are the inaugural champions and have been among the top sides in the shortest format of the game. MS Dhoni was India’s most successful captain in this format of the game and led them to glory many times.

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have also led the team In T20Is for a certain period of time, and India have done well under both of them. Here, we will talk about the top five most successful captains in T20I cricket for India. Rohit Sharma has an unbelievable winning percentage as a captain in T20Is.

Here are the Top 5 most successful Indian captains in T20I cricket

5. Suryakumar Yadav :

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav. (Image Source: BCCI)

Suryakumar Yadav made his captaincy debut recently in the five-match T20I series against Australia just after the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023. He started with a brilliant performance and won the series as a captain. Then, he led India against South Africa, which ended in a draw. SKY has led India in eight T20I matches, winning five of them, loosing two and one ended without any result.

4. Hardik Pandya :

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya. (Image Source: Twitter)

Hardik Pandya has been leading the team since the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. He has led the team in various T20I series and has done a decent job. He is expected to be the next full-time white-ball captain for India. In T20Is, Hardik has led India in 16 matches and led them to win in 10 games, while five ended in a defeat and one ended without any result.

3. Virat Kohli :

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Image Source: ICC)

Virat Kohli took charge of Indian team as captain after MS Dhoni in all three formats. He led the T20I team until the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE. Under Virat, India played a total of 50 matches and won 30 of those, while losing 16 and two ended in a tie and two with no result.

2. MS Dhoni :

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Image Source: Twitter)

MS Dhoni is the only Indian captain to have lifted the T20 World Cup title in 2007. Apart from that, India won a number of series overseas as well under Dhoni. MSD led India in 72 matches, which is the joint-second-most matches as a captain in T20I cricket. Under Dhoni, India won 41 games, lost 28, one game ended in a tie and two with no result.

1. Rohit Sharma :

Indian captain Rohit Sharma in ICC Cricket World Cup 2023
Rohit Sharma. (Image Source: ICC)

Rohit Sharma led India to the semi-final of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, but they lost to England. However, Rohit has the best win percentage for an Indian captain in T20I cricket. Under him, India have played 54 T20I matches. He has won 42 games as a captain and has a win-loss ratio of 3.333 and lost 12 games so far. His 42nd win as captain became more special as he smashed a hundred and became the only batter to hit five centuries in T20I cricket.

(All stats and numbers are updated till 14th January, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.