Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

Why Mustafizur Rahman is playing his last match for CSK today in IPL 2024? Explained

Published at :May 1, 2024 at 9:25 PM
Modified at :May 1, 2024 at 9:25 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


Mustafizur Rahman picked 14 wickets in his first eight matches for CSK in the ongoing IPL 2024.

On May 1, 2024, defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are taking on Punjab Kings (PBKS) in their 10th league match of the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

CSK have so far won five out of nine games played this season and were placed at fourth position on the points table before taking on PBKS. The defending champions have had an on and off season so far. They’ve been dealing with injuries of various players as well as availability of a few other. During the toss of CSK vs PBKS match, CSK captain Ruturaj Gaikwad informed that their death bowling specialist, Matheesha Pathirana has been ruled out of the game due to a niggle.

Not only that, but CSK will now have to deal with another major blow as their highest wicket-taker of the season so far, Mustafizur Rahman, will fly back to his home following tonight’s match against PBKS. The left-arm pacer has so far taken 14 wickets with best bowling figures of 4/29 in eight matches in the ongoing season. This will be Mustafizur’s last match of the ongoing season for CSK.

Why Mustafizur Rahman is playing his last IPL 2024 match for CSK tonight against PBKS?

Mustafizur Rahman, who was bought by CSK at the IPL 2024 auction for his base price of INR 2 crores, will fly back to Bangladesh after tonight’s match against PBKS. The reason behind this is actually he had been granted No-Objection Certificate (NOC) from Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) only till May 1.

Usually centrally contracted international cricketers need to obtain NOC from their respective cricketing boards to play in cricket leagues away from their countries as they are obligated to first play for their nation in international and domestic cricket.

Initially, Mustafizur was granted NOC only till April 30, and had to return to Bangladesh on May 1. However, earlier in April, BCB cricket operations chairman Jalal Yunus confirmed that Mustafizur was allowed to extend his IPL 2024 contract with CSK until May 1, because CSK had a game scheduled on May 1.

“Mustafizur was supposed to return on May 1 but CSK have a match on that day and we have allowed him to play the match and then return,” Jalal told earlier in April as quoted by The Daily Star.

Why Mustafizur Rahman is flying back to Bangladesh ?

The main reason behind Mustafizur returning back to home and being granted of NOC only till May 1 is because Bangladesh have a five-match T20I series scheduled against Zimbabwe at home from May 3. The T20I series will be played from May 3 to May 12. Following the series, Bangladesh will head to Caribbean Islands for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, where Mustafizur Rahman is expected to be a part of.

Mustafizur Rahman to be rested for first three T20Is against Zimbabwe:

However, ahead of the five-match series against Zimbabwe, the 28-year-old has been rested for the first three T20Is. Hannan Sarkar, a member of the BCB selection panel, revealed that Mustafizur has been rested for the first three games due to work load management. He added that the chief selector had a word with Mustafizur, and the pacer wanted a recovery time.

“Mustafizur is not in the squad as he is playing for long time. He played BPL and Sri Lanka T20 series and later moved to IPL. He is playing for long time and he needs recovery, both mental and physical,” Hannan Sarkar, a member of BCB selection panel said.

“Our chief selector spoke with him, and he wanted recovery time in one portion of the series, and we did not include him in the first three games. We might include him in the second portion meaning the last two T20Is,” he added.

Bangladesh squad for first three T20Is vs Zimbabwe

Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan, Parvez Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.