Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Nicholas Pooran goes past Chris Gayle to become West Indies' leading run-scorer in T20I cricket

Published at :June 13, 2024 at 5:08 PM
Modified at :June 13, 2024 at 5:08 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


Nicholas Pooran also became the first West Indies batsman to breach the 1900-run mark in T20Is.

Star left-handed batter Nicholas Pooran created history as he went past the legendary Chris Gayle‘s tally to become the leading run-getter in men’s T20I cricket for the West Indies cricket team.

Pooran got to this huge feat during the Group C match against the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand at the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 on June 12 at the Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad.

Former opener Gayle played 79 T20Is and amassed 1899 runs with an average of 27.92 and a strike rate of 137.5. The Universe Boss hit 14 half-centuries and two centuries for the Men In Maroon.

The 28-year-old Pooran made his T20I debut against Pakistan in Dubai on September 23, 2016. Since then, the left-handed batter has played 91 T20Is, in which he’s scored 1914 runs at an average of 25.52 and a decent strike rate of 134.03. Pooran has hammered 11 fifties till now in the shortest format.

During the match against New Zealand, the wicket-keeper batter scored 17 runs from 12 deliveries, but before returning to the pavilion, he had breached the record of Gayle’s to become the leading run-getter for WI in men’s T20Is.

The 28-year-old Pooran also became the first batter to cross the 1900-run mark in men’s T20Is while representing West Indies.

Most runs for West Indies in men’s T20Is:

1. Nicholas Pooran – 1914

2. Chris Gayle – 1899

3. Marlon Samuels – 1611

4. Kieron Pollard – 1569

5. Lendl Simmons – 1527

What happened during the West Indies vs New Zealand match in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024?

Left-handed batter Sherfane Rutherford played a brilliant knock of 68* (39), which helped the hosts post 149-9 in 20 overs against the Williamson-led side. 

While chasing 150, the Kiwi batters surrendered against the Caribbean bowling unit as they managed to reach 136/9 in 20 overs. Pacer Alzarri Joseph picked a four-wicket haul and Gudakesh Motie scalped three wickets as the hosts won the match by 13 runs.

With this victory, New Zealand’s hopes of reaching the Super Eight stage are all but over, whereas Rovman Powell’s side qualified for the next round of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.