ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Rohit Sharma snubbed, Virat Kohli named captain as Cricket Australia names its best XI of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Saurabh AnandSaurabh Anand

November 13 2023
Rohit Sharma snubbed, Virat Kohli named captain as Cricket Australia names its best XI of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Cricket Australia has announced their best team of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

As the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 comes to its business end, Cricket Australia has announced a 12-member best-performing playing XI. In a surprising selection, Cricket Australia has picked Virat Kohli as captain and excluded Rohit Sharma from the best-performing playing XI. Indian captain Rohit Sharma has been on a dominating run with the bat as well as in field marshaling his troops. There are a few other notable misses in the CA’s team of the tournament. 

With Rohit Sharma missing out on selection as opener, CA has preferred South African wicket-keeper Quinton De Kock and Australian opener David Warner. Quinton De Kock has smashed 4 centuries in the tournament so far and scored 591 runs in 9 innings. Australia opener David Warner also had a terrific run so far and smashed 499 runs in 9 innings so far. Rohit Sharma has scored 503 runs with 4 fifty-plus scores in the league round. 

Virat Kohli picked as captain

New Zealand all-rounder Rachin Ravindra, arguably the find of the tournament has impressed everyone with his brilliant all-round performances. Ravindra is picked as number 3, he has so far scored 565 runs in 9 innings and picked up 5 wickets. World Cup 2023’s leading run-scorer Virat Kohli is chosen as captain of the team of the tournament. Virat Kohli is just 79 runs away from breaking Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most runs in a single edition of Cricket World Cup (673 runs).

South African middle-order batter Aiden Markram (396) and Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell (397) are placed at number 5 and 6 in the playing XI. Marco Jansen is picked as the preferred all-round option. Jansen has been brilliant with his effort and led South Africa to the semi-final. South Africa had missed semi-finals of the CWC 2019, they had a poor tournament and managed to win only 3 out of 9 games in the last edition. Jansen has picked up 17 wickets and scored 157 runs in 8 matches in the ongoing tournament.

Ravindra Jadeja and Adam Zampa are the two spinners in the playing XI. Australia leggie Adam Zampa is currently leading the top wicket-takers tally with 22 scalps in 9 games. Ravindra Jadeja has picked up 16 wickets in 9 games. Mohammed Shami (16 Wickets) and Jasprit Bumrah (17 Wickets) are the two pacers in the team of the tournament. Sri Lankan pacer Dilshan Madushanka is picked as the 12th member with 21 wickets in 9 games. 

Cricket Australia’s Team of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023:

Quinton De Kock (South Africa), David Warner (Australia), Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India) (C), Aiden Markram (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), Marco Jansen (South Africa), Ravindra Jadeja (India), Mohammed Shami (India), Adam Zampa (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), 12th man – Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.