Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Rohit Sharma becomes first ever batsman to hit 200 sixes in T20I cricket

Published at :June 24, 2024 at 9:07 PM
Modified at :June 24, 2024 at 9:07 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : ICC)

Jatin Khandelwal


Rohit Sharma reached his half-century off just 19 deliveries against Australia.

India captain Rohit Sharma produced a thrillingly dominating innings against Australia in their Super 8 round encounter in the ICC T20 World Cup 2024.

India and Australia met for their last Super 8 fixture on Monday, June 24, at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia, where the Indian opener rained fours and sixes on the Aussie bowlers to reach his half-century in only 19 deliveries, which included blasting Mitchell Starc for four sixes in a single over, and consigning the left-arm seamer to the most expensive over of his T20I career.

This was the fastest half-century of this tournament so far and Rohit Sharma continued to plunder more boundaries after reaching his landmark. In the process of this remarkable innings in St Lucia against Australia, Rohit became the first-ever batsman to hit 200 sixes in international cricket.

Rohit Sharma blows Australia away with his six-hitting spree

One of the most attractive six-hitters the game has ever seen, Rohit already has been leading the sixes chart in the shortest international format. Now he is on a plane of his own with more than 200 sixes.

At the time of writing, Rohit is batting on 87* off 35 balls and has tonked eight sixes already in his innings. He’s taken India’s score to beyond 110 inside the 10th over.

Currently, he has whacked 203 sixes in T20Is in 149 innings. The next best on this list is former New Zealand opener Martin Guptill with 173 sixes. England captain and opener Jos Buttler is third with 137 sixes.

Meanwhile, India are on course for more than 200 and Rohit is nearing his sixth T20I century.

Batsmen with most sixes in T20I cricket:

  1. Rohit Sharma – 203*
  2. Martin Guptill – 173
  3. Jos Buttler – 137
  4. Glenn Maxwell – 133
  5. Nicholas Pooran – 132

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.