IPL 2023

Shubman Gill ends IPL 2023 with 890 runs, becomes 2nd highest run scorer in an IPL season


May 29 2023
Shubman Gill

Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in one IPL season – 973 in IPL 2016

Gujarat Titans opener Shubman Gill completed his IPL 2023 with 890 runs thanks to his innings of 39 in the ongoing IPL 16 final against Chennai Super Kings being played at the Narendra Modi stadium in Ahmedabad on May 29, 2023.

After being washed out on the original day on May 28, the final took place on the reserve day with Chennai Super Kings (CSK) captain MS Dhoni, who is playing in his 250th game in IPL, won the toss and chose to bowl first.

Speaking ahead of the game, Gill spoke to the broadcaster about his frustration and said that it was mentally exhausting to not play the final on Sunday.

Not too easy nor difficult. We were all pumped to play the match yesterday. We didn’t had any physical activity so it felt mentally exhausting but physically you are fine. We want to play it like just another match and get the job done.

The target in the mind is not about how much runs to score but to look at the situation and see where I can score runs. I carry myself according to the moment. The target is never to score 600 or 800 runs,” Gill had said ahead of the game.  

Shubman Gill has been incredible this season. He became the first-ever batter to score three centuries in four matches in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Shubman Gill finishes IPL 2023 with 890 runs, just behind Virat Kohli’s record of 973

Gill gave the Gujarat Titans a quick start by pounding the CSK bowlers. Gill was fortunate to be dropped by Deepak Chahar at 3 runs early in the innings.

Gill’s confidence was unaffected by the decline because he appeared menacing. Gil had 28-ball innings and smashed 3 boundaries and 1 six before dismissal. The highest-ever opening wicket score in an IPL Final, 62 runs were scored by Gill and Wriddhiman Saha in the powerplay overs.

He amassed 890 runs by the time his Indian Premier League campaign was up. Gill, who has the Orange Cap at the moment, was dismissed by Ravindra Jadeja on 39, stumped by MS Dhoni.

While he did fall short of Virat Kohli’s record of 973 runs in IPL 2016, he did beat Jos Buttler’s record of 863, which the Englishman had made in IPL 2022.

Most runs in an IPL season:

973 – Virat Kohli (RCB, 2016)

890 – Shubman Gill (GT, 2023)

863 – Jos Buttler (RR, 2022)

848 – David Warner (SRH, 2016)

735 – Kane Williamson (SRH, 2018)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.