ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

South Africa Cricket Team updated squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 announced

Mihir KordeMihir Korde
September 29 2023
South Africa

South Africa will play their first match of ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 against Sri Lanka.

With ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 just around the corner, cricket fans are eagerly awaiting the clash of best in the business. Scheduled to commence on October 5th, World Cup is set to be hosted in India and will feature the top ten cricketing nations battling it out in ten different venues across the country. While each team hopes of clinching the coveted title, one team that have consistently come close but fallen short are South Africa. This year, they are determined to break their World Cup jinx and secure their maiden championship.

South African cricket fans have been buzzing with excitement as the national selection committee announced their 15-members squad on 5th September. Led by Temba Bavuma, this squad comprises a mix of seasoned players and promising newcomers.

South Africa another favourites to win the trophy

South Africa’s batting lineup boasts considerable depth and balance with power hitters like Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, and Rassie van der Dussen. It’s worth noting that de Kock has declared that he will retire from ODIs after the World Cup, adding an emotional element to his performance.

In the bowling department, South Africa will rely heavily on their pace attack, which is spearheaded by the formidable Kagiso Rabada. Supporting him are the spinners Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi, who bring their own set of skills and strategies to the team. While they will miss the services of Sisanda Magala and express fast bowler Anrich Nortje, who got ruled out due to injuries.

South Africa haven’t made any changes to their squad and will try to win their maiden World Cup.

South Africa final squad for World Cup: Temba Bavuma (C), Quinton de Kock (Wk), Aiden Markram, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen (Wk), David Miller, Rassie Van der Dussen, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lizaad Williams.

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.