Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score


Sri Lanka Cricket hands central contracts to 41 male players; Bhanuka Rajapaksa misses out

Published at :May 10, 2024 at 11:16 PM
Modified at :May 10, 2024 at 11:16 PM
Post Featured Image



Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) also increased test match fees 100% to encourage players preferring tests.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Friday, May 10, 2024, announced the list of upgraded central contracts to 41 male players, up from 29 previously. As in last year, there are six categories – A1, A2, B2, C1, C2, and ‘A’ Team – with several performance-based clauses included.

18 new players have been added to the central contract list with names like Shevon Daniel, Dushan Hemantha, Nuwanidu Fernando, and Sahan Arachchige getting deals despite limited appearances for Sri Lanka’s national side.

Notably, SLC refused to publicly reveal which player has got a contract from which category as CEO Ashley de Silva said the board didn’t want to impact players’ morale negatively with such information.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa amongst six players missing out on Sri Lanka central contract

However, six big names have been dropped. This includes Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Danushka Gunathilaka, who have not turned out for the national team in over a year. Lahiru Thirimanne, Nuwan Pradeep, Minod Bhanuka, and Lakshan Sandakan are the other four to not cut from the last set of contracts handed out in 2022.

The new contracts place a strong emphasis on red-ball cricket, with test match earnings increasing by 100% to encourage players to commit to the longer format of the game. The payouts, however, will be merit-driven, with “different payment structures” based on performance. In the meantime, match fees for both ODI and T20I have been raised by 25 percent.

Along with increased daily allowances, players would receive one-time incentives for topping the ICC player rankings as a batter, bowler, or all-rounder. Players who reach the top ten but do not finish first will get a one-time payout.

List of Sri Lanka’s centrally contracted men’s players:

Dimuth Karunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Wanindu Hasaranga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Charith Asalanka, Pathum Nissanka, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Prabath Jayasuriya, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Asitha Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ramesh Mendis, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Lahiru Kumara, Nishan Madushka, Matheesha Pathirana, Kusal Janith Perera, Vishwa Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Pramod Madushan, Janith Liyanage, Akila Dananjaya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Nuwan Thushara, Sahan Arachchige, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dushan Hemantha, Lasith Embuldeniya, Binura Fernando, Shevon Daniel, Niroshan Dickwella, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Avishka Fernando

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.