ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

No Wanindu Hasaranga as Sri Lanka announce 15-member squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023


September 26 2023
Sri Lanka Cricket Team

Sri Lanka to play their tournament opener on 7 October against South Africa in Delhi.

Sri Lanka will be without Wanindu Hasaranga and pacer Dushmantha Chameera at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 after SLC announced 15-members squad on September 26, 2023. Dasun Shanaka, whose role as captain had been under much speculation over the past few weeks, will lead the side in India through October and November.

Wanindu Hasaranga suffered a grade three hamstring tear during the playoffs of Lankan Premier League 2023 recently. He had concluded the tournament as the top run-scorer with 279 runs and the leading wicket-taker with 19 wickets. The injury caused him to miss out on the Asia Cup 2023.

Previously, SLC gave a statement saying that Hasaranga was being given all possible help to get him fit in time for World Cup. But they also stated the possibility of Hasaranga missing out on cricket for at least three months if he needed surgery.

“Wanindu Hasaranga has not been included in the 15-member squad as the player is still in the process of recovering from an injury. His recovery will be monitored, and if he is declared fit to play, he will be considered a replacement in the event of an injury to a squad member during the tournament,” SLC said in a statement.

On the other hand, Dushmantha Chameera also missed out after suffering a shoulder injury, also in LPL 2023. He had returned to the T20 league after getting fit from an ankle issue but then ended up with a shoulder niggle.

Dilshan Madushanka and Lahiru Kumara return to Sri Lanka squad

The squad has been boosted with the return of left-arm pacers Dilshan Madushanka and Lahiru Kumara, who had missed Asia Cup recently due to injury. They will join Kasun Rajitha and Matheesha Pathirana in the pacer department.

The rest of the 15-members squad formed up as expected, with quick bowlers Pramod Madushan and Binura Fernando excluded.

Lead spinner Maheesh Theekshana has been cleared for the tournament after having missed the finals of Asia Cup due to a grade 3 injury. He will lead the spin attack with Dushan Hemantha and Dunith Wellalage.

Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, and Sadeera Samarawickrama are the batters included in the side. Dhananjaya de Silva and Charith Asalanka are the all-rounders.

Chamika Karunaratne has been named a travelling reserve.

Sri Lanka will play two warm-up games ahead of World Cup against Bangladesh on September 29 and Afghanistan on October 2. They will play their tournament opener on October 7 against South Africa at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dushan Hemantha, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka

Travelling reserve: Chamika Karunaratne

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.