Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

Teams with most Indian Premier League (IPL) titles

Published at :May 26, 2024 at 10:17 PM
Modified at :May 26, 2024 at 10:17 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : BCCI)

Karan Rawat


Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have won five IPL titles each.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) started in 2008 with eight teams competing for the coveted trophy. Currently, there are 10 teams in the tournament. In between, there were a few teams that were discontinued, while some new teams joined the tournament.

Over the years, the success of the IPL inspired other test-playing nations to introduce their own T20 franchise leagues.

Most of the best T20 players in the world have featured in the IPL, aiming to get their hands on the trophy. There are a few teams that have been vying for their maiden title since 2008 but haven’t won it yet. There are also a few teams that have won multiple titles over the years.

In this article, we will talk about the teams with the most IPL titles in history.

List of Teams with the most Indian Premier League (IPL) titles

7. Deccan Chargers – 1 title

Deccan Chargers 2009
Deccan Chargers (Image-Twitter)

Deccan Chargers were the second team to win the IPL title. They did it in 2009 under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist. The Deccan Chronicle owned this team that was part of the competition for five seasons from 2008 to 2012. Out of five seasons, they made it to the playoffs two times. In 2009, they beat Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in the final to lift their maiden title under Adam Gilchrist’s captaincy.

6. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 1 title

Sunrisers Hyderabad 2016, SRH
Sunrisers Hyderabad. Image-Twitter

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are one of the few teams that have won the IPL title so far. The Orange Army achieved it in 2016 under David Warner’s captaincy. They made it to the final after winning the Eliminator and Qualifier 2. SRH faced RCB in the 2016 final and won by 8 runs to lift the trophy. They are the only team so far to have won the title after playing the Eliminator.

5. Gujarat Titans – 1 title

Gujarat Titans 2022
Gujarat Titans. Image-Twitter

Gujarat Titans (GT) made their IPL debut in 2022 and went on to win the title in their maiden season under Hardik Pandya‘s captaincy. It was a great season for GT, as they were the best team throughout the tournament. From the group stage to the playoffs, they didn’t give an inch to their opponents. In the finals, they beat Rajasthan Royals to clinch the trophy.

4. Rajasthan Royals – 1 title

Rajasthan Royals 2008
Rajasthan Royals. Image-Twitter

Rajasthan Royals (RR) made history when Shane Warne led them to the title in the inaugural season in 2008. This team didn’t have many superstars, and Warne built a team with plenty of youngsters. But they went on to surprise everyone. RR defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the final to win the championship. But since then, RR have not won the IPL title again.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders – 3 titles

KKR 2012
KKR (Image-Twitter)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) are one of the few franchises that have won the IPL championship on more than one occasion. KKR won the IPL titles in 2012 and 2014, and these two wins came under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. 10 years later in 2024, they won their third IPL title.

In 2012, they defeated CSK in the final to win their maiden title; in 2014, they won the final against Punjab Kings. In 2024, they defeated SRH in a one-sided final to lift third IPL title.

2. Mumbai Indians – 5 titles

Mumbai Indians 2013
Mumbai Indians. Image-Twitter

Mumbai Indians (MI) are one of the most successful teams in IPL history. MI were the first franchise to win the IPL title five times. All those five championships came under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy. He led them to their first title in 2013, when he became the captain for the first time. Then, Rohit led MI to championships in 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

1. Chennai Super Kings – 5 titles

Chennai Super Kings, CSK
Chennai Super Kings (Image-Twitter)

CSK have been the most consistent team in the IPL history. Since losing the final in 2008, CSK have won five IPL titles overall. They won the 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023 editions and were also runners-up in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019. They have played 15 seasons and qualified for the playoffs 12 times, including 10 final appearances, which is a record itself.

(All stats updated till 26th May, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.