Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

Top 10 batsmen with most centuries (100) in IPL

Published at :April 28, 2024 at 8:59 PM
Modified at :May 10, 2024 at 9:03 PM
Post Featured Image

Khel Now


Virat Kohli holds the record for most centuries in the IPL.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the oldest franchise league that came into existence in 2008. Until now, 16 seasons have taken place, and the 17th one is going on. Almost every big name that has dominated the world has made an appearance in the IPL once. But not many went on to become successful.

In this article, we will talk about the top ten players with the most centuries in the IPL. Scoring a T20 hundred is one of the biggest challenges for a batter because you don’t get many balls to face. But some players have made the habit of it, and that’s why they are on this elite list. So let’s check it out.

Here are the list of Top 10 batsmen with most centuries (100) in IPL

10. Hashim Amla – 2:

Hashim Amla was one of the fastest batters to achieve some big batting records in international cricket. He had a short IPL career, but it was a pretty successful one. Amla played two seasons in 2016 and 2017 for Punjab Kings and featured in 16 games. He scored 577 runs and had two centuries, with a best of 104 not out.

9. AB de Villiers – 3:

AB de Villiers RCB IPL 2016
AB de Villiers. (Image Source: BCCI)

AB de Villiers retired as an IPL legend, and he had a very successful IPL career. He made his debut for Delhi, but he got real success after joining RCB. De Villiers played 184 matches until 2021. He scored 5162 runs at an average and strike rate of 39.07 and 151.63 respectively. De Villiers also scored three hundreds with 40 half-centuries.

8. Sanju Samson – 3:

Sanju Samson RR IPL
Sanju Samson. (Image Source: BCCI)

Sanju Samson played his first game in the IPL for the Rajasthan Royals in 2013. The Indian star was also part of the Delhi Capitals in his IPL career. Samson has become a household name with RR and is one of the best young players in the tournament. He has so far played 153 games and scored 3970 runs with three centuries and 21 half-centuries.

7. David Warner – 4:

David Warner SRH IPL 2017
David Warner. (Image Source: BCCI)

Veteran Australian opener David Warner has most number of 50-plus scores in the history of Indian Premier League. The Southpaw has played for the Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad and, in fact, led SRH to the 2016 title. Warner has played in 177 games and scored 6426 runs at 41.45. He has scored four hundred and 61 half-centuries.

6. Shane Watson – 4:

Shane Watson celebrates his hundred in the IPL 2018 final
Shane Watson celebrates his hundred in the IPL 2018 final. (Image Source: BCCI)

Former Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was part of the IPL since 2008 and retired in 2020. He played for RR, RCB, and CSK and won titles with Rajasthan and Chennai. Watson played 145 matches in his IPL career and scored 3874 runs at an average of 30.99 and a strike rate of 137.92. He also scored four centuries and 21 half-centuries.

5. KL Rahul – 4:

KL Rahul LSG IPL 2022
KL Rahul. (Image Source: BCCI)

KL Rahul has been the best batter in the IPL in the last four to five seasons. Rahul made his debut in 2013 and has played for PBKS, RCB, SRH, and LSG. Overall, he has so far played 119 games and scored 4221 runs, for a best average of 46.9. Rahul has four centuries and 34 half-centuries to his name.

4. Shubman Gill – 4:

Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill. (Image Source: IPL)

Shubman Gill is considered the next big thing in Indian cricket, and why not? He has achieved a lot in his short career, both at international and IPL levels. He started his career with KKR and is now the captain of GT. Gill has played 103 matches so far in the IPL and has scored 3200+ runs at an average of 37.61. The right-hander has already scored four centuries, along with 21 half-centuries.

3. Chris Gayle – 6:

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Image source: Twitter)

Chris Gayle will always remain the most destructive batter in the shortest format. He has most runs and centuries in T20 cricket history. In the IPL as well, he had a legendary career. Gayle played from 2009 to 2021 and was part of RCB, PBKS, and KKR. He played 142 games and scored 4936 runs at a strike rate of 148.96. He also hit six centuries and 31 half-centuries. 

2. Jos Buttler – 7:

Jos Buttler celebrates a hundred in the IPL
Jos Buttler celebrates a hundred in the IPL. (Image Source: IPL)

The English white-ball captain, Jos Buttler, is one of the finest T20 batters in modern-day cricket. His numbers in the IPL are also incredible. Buttler has so far played 100+ games and scored 3400+ runs at a strike rate of 147+. He has seven centuries and 19 half-centuries. Buttler scored four centuries alone in the 2022 season.

So far, Buttler has hit seven centuries in the IPL.

1. Virat Kohli – 8:

Virat Kohli celebrates hundred in IPL
Virat Kohli. (Image Source: BCCI)

Virat Kohli was the first batter to score four centuries in a season and scored 973 runs in the 2016 edition. The former RCB captain is unfortunate not to have won a trophy, but his achievement in the IPL is unmatchable. He has played 242 matches and scored 7570 runs at an average of 38.23. Virat has eight hundreds and 51 half-centuries to his name in the IPL.

(All stats and numbers updated till 16th April, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.