Khel Now logo
HomeSportsIPL 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

Top 5 most expensive spells in IPL history

Published at :April 24, 2024 at 11:46 PM
Modified at :April 24, 2024 at 11:46 PM
Post Featured Image

Karan Rawat


Only two bowlers have conceded 70 or more runs in an innings in the IPL.

T20 cricket is not for the batters, and the record we will talk about here will show you why. Giving away 60 or more runs in an ODI is considered an expensive spell, so you can imagine what it means when you concede more than 60 runs in four overs.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) brings the best powerhitters into one tournament, which makes life difficult for the bowlers. The IPL has seen some of the most expensive spells in T20 history. In this article, we will talk about the five most expensive spells of all time in the IPL history.

Here are the most expensive spells in the history of IPL:

5. Arshdeep Singh (PBKS) – 66/1 in 3.5 overs vs MI, 2023

Arshdeep Singh, PBKS, IPL 2023
Arshdeep Singh. (Image Source: BCCI)

Four bowlers have given away 66 runs in their spells. Arshdeep Singh is one of those four. He recorded it against Mumbai Indians in 2023 in Mohali. PBKS posted a massive total of 214/3 in the first innings with Liam Livingstone scoring a 42-ball 82 not out. MI chased down the target in 18.5 overs and made 216/4. Arshdeep ended up with 1/66 in 3.5 overs and was the most expensive in the match.

4. Reece Topley (RCB) – 68/1 in 4 overs vs SRH, 2024

Reece Topley, RCB, IPL 2024
Reece Topley. (Image Source: BCCI)

Sunrisers Hyderabad hold the record for the highest IPL total (287/3), which they made against Royal Challengers Bengaluru at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in 2024. Every RCB bowler went for plenty in that game. In fact, that match had three bowlers conceding 60 or more in their four overs. But Reece Topley was the most expensive. The RCB pacer gave away 68 runs and managed to pick only one wicket in his spell. RCB also batted well and made 262/7 but fell short by just 26 runs.

3. Yash Dayal (GT) – 69/0 in 4 overs vs KKR, 2023

Yash Dayal, GT, IPL 2023
Yash Dayal. (Image Source: BCCI)

No one can forget the moment when Rinku Singh smashed five consecutive sixes off Yash Dayal in the last over to win the game for KKR at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad against Gujarat Titans. Those five sixes made Yash Dayal register the unwanted record of the third-most expensive bowling spell in the IPL. KKR won that game by three wickets and made 207/7 to win the game, and the pacer gave away 69 runs in his spell of four overs.

2. Basil Thampi (SRH) – 70/0 in 4 overs vs RCB, 2018

Basil Thampi conceded 70 runs against RCB
Basil Thampi conceded 70 runs against RCB. (Image Source: BCCI)

The previous record for the most expensive spell in the IPL was with Basil Thampi, who gave away 70 runs in his four overs against Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Royal Challengers Bangalore then) while playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad. It came in the 2018 season at the M. Chinnaswamy. RCB posted a big score of 218/6 in the first innings. Thampi conceded 70 runs without taking a wicket. SRH made 204/3 and lost by 14 runs.

1. Mohit Sharma (GT) – 73/0 in 4 overs vs DC, 2024

Mohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, GT, IPL 2024
Mohit Sharma, Shubman Gill. (Image Source: BCCI)

Mohit Sharma broke the unwanted record of Basil Thampi in 2024 at Arun Jaitley Stadium in a DC vs GT clash. Batting first, DC posted a massive total of 224/4. Rishabh Pant took Mohit to cleaners and hit four sixes and one four in the last over of the first innings, where Mohit conceded 31 runs (including a wide). The veteran seamer ended with figures of 73/0 in his quota of four overs and registered the worst bowling figures in the history of IPL.

(All stats updated till 24th April, 2024)

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.




  • About Us
  • Home
  • Khel Now TV
  • Sitemap
  • Feed
Khel Icon

Download on the

App Store


Google Play

2024 Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.