Khel Now logo
HomeSportsT20 WC 2024Live Score

IPL 2024

"Best and deserving team.." Twitter erupts as KKR thrash SRH in finals to win their third IPL title

Published at :May 26, 2024 at 10:48 PM
Modified at :May 26, 2024 at 10:51 PM
Post Featured Image

Utkarsh Rathour


Shreyas Iyer-led KKR thrashed SRH by eight wickets in a one-sided final.

It was clinical effort from the Shreyas Iyer-led Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) as they dismantled Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the IPL 2024 final to clinch their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title on May 26. 

After being asked to bowl first, Kolkata bowlers produced a brilliant effort as Hyderabad registered the lowest total in an IPL final match till now. SRH were all out for just 113 runs at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. 

Hyderabad batters struggled since the start, as Kolkata bowlers took wickets right from the start. Hyderabadโ€™s top three batters โ€“ Abhishek Sharma, Travis Head and Rahul Tripathi, went back to the hut inside the fifth over of the first innings.

Kolkata bowlers kept taking wickets at regular intervals as the Cummins-led side couldnโ€™t recover from there. Towards the end, Cummins played a fighting knock of 24 runs as they reached 113. For Kolkata, Andre Russell took a three-wicket haul, whereas Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana scalped two wickets each.

While chasing the lowest ever total in an IPL final, Kolkata opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Venkatesh Iyer crushed Hyderabadโ€™s bowling line-up.

The duo stitched a match-winning partnership of 91 runs in just 44 balls. Gurbaz was dismissed for 39 runs, whereas Venkatesh played a match winning knock of 53* runs as they won the one-sided clash by eight wickets.

With this victory, Kolkata ended their close-to-perfect campaign on a high note by winning the IPL trophy for the third time. It is to be noted that the Shreyas-led side finished at the top of the 2024 standings with 20 points to their name.

Following their win, cricketing fraternity on social media went jubilant and celebrated KKRโ€™s third IPL title win.

Hereโ€™s how Twitter reacted to KKRโ€™s dominant win over SRH:

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket for IPL 2024 Live Score & IPL Points Table,  on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube; download the Khel Now Android App or IOS App and join our community on WhatsappTelegram.