IPL 2023

Watch: Rohit Sharma, Sanju Samson, Sachin Tendulkar & Kumar Sangakkara presented with mementos on occasion of 1000th IPL match

Saurabh Anand

April 30 2023
Rohit Sharma, Sanju Samson, Sachin Tendulkar and Kumar Sangakkara given mementos on occasion of 1000th IPL match

Indian Premier League (IPL) started on 18th April 2008 and now has completed its 1000th game.

One of the World’s most lucrative leagues has completed another milestone in its 16 long year career so far. The Indian Premier League is hosting its 1000th game. Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals encounter at Wankhede Stadium is the 1000th game in this league. IPL’s journey started on 18th April 2008 in Bangalore. KKR’s wicketkeeper Brandon Mccullum with his 158 made that a special game and that century alone revolutionised entire T20 cricket around the world. Now in the 1000th game, Yashaswi Jaiswal with his blistering knock has made the occasion more memorable.

To make this game memorable, the IPL governing body along with the BCCI presented a memento to both the team’s captain and coaches before the toss. From Rajasthan Royals, Kumar Sangakkara and Sanju Samson came forward to receive the special token, while for Mumbai, Rohit Sharma and Sachin Tendulkar were present during the event. BCCI secretary presented IPL’s 1000th game special memento to Sachin Tendulkar. Jay Shah, Ashish Shelar, and Devajit Saikia were present during the presentation before the game.

Watch the video here:

Rajasthan Royals opener, Yashasvi Jaiswal with his century once again proved that Indian Premier League is truly a platform for the future. From 2008 to 2023, 15 seasons have taken place. Since its inception, this league has grown bigger and better in terms of game, quality, participation of players, and also in business. IPL 2008 hosted only 59 games and 8 teams were there to participate, while in the IPL 2023 a total of 74 games will be played with 10 teams battling for the title. Mumbai Indians are the most successful team with 5 titles, CSK won the title 4 times. Kolkata Knight Riders have won twice, while Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans, Sunrisers Hyderabad and now defunct Deccan Chargers won once. 

For more updates, follow Khel Now Cricket on FacebookTwitterInstagramYoutube and join our community on Telegram.

Khel Now Logo
© 2023
Agnificent Platform Technologies Pte. Ltd.