Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Denmark announces squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Published at :November 13, 2022 at 7:21 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : Sports Brief)

rajarshi shukla

Manchester United star Christian Eriksen is part of the team that will travel to Qatar.

Denmark will participate in its sixth World Cup campaign. The Dynamites are one of the dark horses in the Qatar FIFA World Cup. Denmark have a lot riding on their impressive run in Euro 2020, where they reached the semi-finals.

Their best World Cup performance came in 1998 when they reached the quarter-finals. However, this time the Danes are dubbed banana skins and will want to cause an upset or two.

They have also condemned Qatar's human rights violations, and to show support the Danes will wear shirts with toned-down logos and sponsors as a mark of protest. They will also sport an all-black kit symbolising "the colour of melancholy" as a mark of recognition of the lives lost in building the stadia and other infrastructures in Qatar.

Denmark's most recent match was a 2-0 victory over France in the UEFA Nations League. They will meet the same opponent in Qatar with both countries in Group D alongside Tunisia and Australia. With the exception of France, Denmark have an excellent chance of qualifying for the knockout rounds.

Head coach Kasper Hjulmand has only announced a 21-member Denmark squad so far for the World Cup. He will announce the remaining five players in the coming days.

Denmark's 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Goalkeepers: Kasper Schmeichel (Nice), Oliver Christensen (Hertha Berlin), Frederik Ronnow (Union Berlin).

Defenders: Simon Kjaer (AC Milan), Joachim Andersen (Crystal Palace), Joakim Maehle (Atalanta), Andreas Christensen (Barcelona), Rasmus Kristensen (Leeds United), Jens Stryger Larsen (Trabzonspor), Victor Nelsson (Galatasaray), Daniel Wass (Brondby), Alexander Bah (Benfica).

Midfielders: Thomas Delaney (Sevilla), Mathias Jensen (Brentford), Christian Eriksen (Manchester United), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Tottenham Hotspur), Christian Norgaard (Brentford), Robert Skov (Hoffenheim).

Forwards: Andreas Skov Olsen (Club Bruges), Jesper Lindstrom (Eintracht Frankfurt), Andreas Cornelius (FC Copenhagen), Martin Braithwaite (Espanyol), Kasper Dolberg (Sevilla), Mikkel Damsgaard (Brentford), Jonas Wind (VfL Wolfsburg) Yussuf Poulsen (RB Leipzig)