Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Luis Suarez, Edinson Cavani included in Uruguay's squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Published at :November 13, 2022 at 6:45 AM
Modified at :December 13, 2023 at 1:01 PM
Post Featured Image

(Courtesy : FIFA)

rajarshi shukla

La Celeste have some experienced names in their squad.

Uruguay were fortunate enough to qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup despite their poor performance and continuous loss of games, which led to the firing of their head coach.

La Celeste appointed Diego Alonso, who guided the squad to World Cup qualification as the American giants finished third in the Conmebol qualifiers, behind Argentina and Brazil. Following the announcement of their squad, Uruguay will now prepare for the FIFA World Cup.

Diego Alonso has gathered a strong squad, and the country could be a surprise in this World Cup. Uruguay have been the World Championship twice, in 1930 and 1950. In 2018, they advanced to the quarter-finals before being ousted by eventual champions France.

Veteran players Luis Suarez and Edinson Cavani, as well as the injured Ronald Araujo, have been named in the 26-man squad.

The two-time world champions are in Group H alongside Portugal, Ghana, and South Korea. They face South Korea in their first World Cup encounter on November 24.

Uruguay's 26-man squad for FIFA World Cup

Goalkeepers: Fernando Muslera (Galatasaray), Sergio Rochet (Nacional), Sebastian Sosa (Independiente). 

Defenders: Jose Maria Gimenez (Atletico Madrid), Sebastian Coates (Sporting CP), Diego Godin (Velez Sarsfield), Martin Caceres (LA Galaxy), Ronald Araujo (Barcelona), Guillermo Varela (Flamengo), Jose Luis Rodriguez (Nacional), Mathias Olivera (Napoli), Matias Vina (Roma).

Midfielders: Lucas Torreira (Galatasaray), Manuel Ugarte (Sporting CP), Matias Vecino (Lazio), Rodrigo Bentancur (Tottenham Hotspur), Federico Valverde (Real Madrid), Facundo Pellistri (Manchester United), Nicolas De La Cruz (River Plate).

Forwards: Agustin Canobbio (Athletico Paranaense), Facundo Torres (Orlando City), Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Flamengo), Maxi Gomez (Trabzonspor), Luis Suarez (Nacional), Edinson Cavani (Valencia), Darwin Nunez (Liverpool).