Khel Now logo
HomeSportsOLYMPICS 2024Live Score

2022 FIFA World Cup

Argentina announces 26-man squad for 2022 FIFA World Cup

Published at :November 12, 2022 at 2:31 AM
Modified at :November 22, 2022 at 7:50 PM
Post Featured Image

rajarshi shukla

Paulo Dybala has been included in the team despite being not fully fit

Argentina were due to unveil their World Cup roster on November 14. But Lionel Scaloni has already decided on his choice of player to lead Argentina to their third World Cup in Qatar. Argentina were close to securing the coveted showpiece during the 2014 World Cup, but a goal in extra time by Mario Gotze shattered their dream. Ever since the two time world champions have established togetherness and drive since Lionel Scaloni took over as national team coach and showed commitment in every match, with Lionel Messi being the orchestra of the nation.

He steered them to their first-ever Copa America in 2021 and the Finalissima 2022 trophy. And now they are considered candidates to claim the trophy in Qatar. Furthermore, this will most possibly be Lionel Messi final World Cup, as he will be featuring in his fifth World Cup and it will Provide him another opportunity to win the trophy and consolidate his legacy as the greatest player of all time alongside the late Diego Maradona.

Argentina had a dreary 2018 World Cup, slogging their way into the round of 16, where they were ousted 3-4 by France. Many people are pulling for the 35-year-old to lift the trophy in Qatar, and fans will expect this powerful squad to conquer the world.

Argentina are in a tricky group involving Robert Lewandowski, Poland, Saudi Arabia, and Mexico. The South American titans will play a friendly against the UAE before heading to Qatar to commence their World Cup quest against Saudi Arabia on November 22.

Scaloni selected Argentina's 26-man World Cup squad.

Goalkeepers: Emiliano Martinez (Asotn Villa) Geronimo Rulli (Villarreal), Franco Armani (River Plate).

Defenders: Nahule Molina (Atlético Madrid), Gonzalo Montiel (Sevilla), Cristian Romero (Tottenham), German Pezzella (Real Betis), Nicolas Otamendi (Benfica), Lisandro Martinez (Manchester United), Marcos Acuna (Sevilla), Nicolas Tagliafico (Lyon), Juan Foyth (Villarreal).

Midfielders: Rodrigo de Paul (Atletico Madrid), Leandro Paredes (Juventus), Alexis mac Allister (Brighton), Guido Rodriguez (Real Betis), Alejandro Gomez (Sevilla), Enzo Fernandez (Benfica), Exequiel Palacios (Bayer Leverkusen).

Forwards: Angel di Maria (Juventus), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan), Juilan Alvarez (Manchester City), Angel Correa (Atletico Madrid), Thiago Almada (Atlanta United), Paulo Dybala (AS Roma), Lionel Messi (PSG).